Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library buildings can only be accessed via swipe card until 30th November 2020.
Please check current information about other Library services impacted by Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Beyond Google for your research: Where to search

What are databases?

A database is an organised collection of information from:

  • journal literature
  • theses
  • conference papers
  • newspaper articles
  • reports

The Library subscribes to a range of databases which are bibliographic and/or full text.

Bibliographic databases contain references or citations. If the database does not provide full text access, the “Find it” Library software may help to locate the full text via another database.

Which database should I use?

Use the Database list from the Library home page to access a complete list of databases.

To browse databases by subject use the menu on the left hand side of the page.

Hints

  • You will need to search more than one database.
  • There may be more than one database covering the same subject area but they may contain different sources.
  • The topic may also be multidisciplinary, eg articles on email and security could be found in business, information management or health databases.

Watch the short video below:

Key databases

Multidisciplinary
Architecture
Business
Communication and media
Creative writing and literature
Education
Engineering
Health
Psychology
Social Work