Finding media articles and academic literature for assessment 1
1. What you need to do
For assessment 1 you need to find the following information:
- A relevant news/media article to use for your analysis, related to an organisational issue/workplace event or problem.
- Academic literature to help guide and support your analysis and recommendations.
This assignment help will guide you in finding both types of material.
Note: ​Please refer to your course site for the full assessment details.
2. Finding media articles
For your assignment you will need to find a relevant news/media article to use for your analysis.
The Library subscribes to a number of databases which provide access to Australian and international news media articles. You can search using the following database:
- NewsBankThis database consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, and other publications.
How to search in Newsbank newspapers
- Below is an example search on working from home.
- Add your concept or search term into the search box.
- Select Search.
- Newest articles are displayed by default.
- You can also refine your results by limiting the Source location > Australia.
You can also browse news media articles by using the 'Suggested Topics' on the homepage of Newsbank. To do this:
- Select a suggested topic, e.g., Business and economics.
- Then select one of the sub-topics within this area, e.g., Business types > Family-Owned Businesses.
- You can refine your results by applying filters such as date, e.g., 2021-2023.
More help
- News Media GuideFor more databases and search options look at this News Media guide.
- Help finding a media article - Video (7 min 41 sec)A video resource for BUSS 2081.
3. Plan your search
The first thing to do before finding your academic literature is to plan your search. This requires evaluating your question or topic and identifying the key concepts and task words.
For example:
- Question/task: 'Using examples found in current literature, describe how toxic leadership can affect motivation in the workplace.'
- Key concepts you could include: toxic leadership, motivation, workplace.
To cover the range of terminology used in the literature, you must also identify any synonyms or alternative names for each concept, per the example below.
| Toxic leadership | Motivation | Workplace |
| Toxic boss | Motive | Worksite |
| Destructive leadership | Incentive | Company |
| Negative leadership | Engagement | Organisation |
| Hinder | Office |
More help
- Plan your search - Video (2 min 26 sec)This short video explains how to plan your search strategy.
- How to plan your search - PDF (282 KB)This resource explains how to combine and connect search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
5. Finding academic literature
- Library CollectionThe Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic literature. The library catalogue locates information such as print and electronic books, journals, multimedia, and theses from numerous databases.
To do a search, try using:
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect words and phrases using AND, OR and NOT
For example, the search: "toxic leadership" AND motivation
In the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from peer reviewed publications
- Limit by date, e.g., 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items - select the title then look for the online link
- Library Collection search tipsSee Library Collection Help for additional searching tips
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.
Tip: You can limit your search by date range and to peer reviewed articles from the box on the left-hand side of the results screen.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than across the whole internet like a regular Google search. You can access Google Scholar from within Library homepage.
- Select Google Scholar from above the Library search bar.
- Enter your search terms and select search.
Accessing Google Scholar through the Library website will link you directly to articles that the Library has access to when you click on the Fulltext at UniSA links from your search results.
Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.
7. More study help
Now that you have your information, it is time to put everything together. The below resources will help you get started: