1. BUSS 3102: Project
This guide has been created to help you find information on your chosen high growth firm for your project assignment. Please see your Course Outline and Course Site for the full assessment details.
2. High growth firms
For examples of young high growth companies look at The Deloitte Technology Fast 50 5019 Australian program, which profiles and ranks the fasted growing public and private technology companies in Australia, based on percentage of revenue growth over 3 years (2017-2019).
3. Plan your search
Once you have chosen your company, visit their website. Key information to find out:
| Is your company? |
| 1. Australian or international? |
| 2. Private or public? |
| 3. What industry/market does your company fit into? |
| 4. What is their mission? |
Tip: Also look at your companies social media accounts which are key communication tools.
4. Company and industry information
Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.
This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.
5. Analysis and recommendations
A STEEP analysis examines factors affecting the Social, Technological, Economic, Environmental, and Political landscape around your industry or company.
Try these sites for more information on conducting STEEP analysis:
- What is a STEEP Analysis?STEEP Analysis explanation from UTS Design Index.
- PESTLE analysisThis video from CIPD describes a PESTLE analysis (very similar to a STEEP analysis).
The below diagram is adapted from Porter's 2008 article, The five competitive forces that shape strategy.
For more about Porter's Five Forces, see the suggestions below:
- Industry analysis - the Five ForcesA guide to Porter's five forces from Purdue University
- The five competition forces that shape strategyA video of an interview with Michael E. Porter, Professor, Harvard University, discussing Porter's five competitive forces (13:11 mins.)
- Why you need a SWOT analysisAn Australian government SWOT analysis tool.
- Using a SWOT analysis to develop a marketing strategyAn explanation of SWOT analysis from Oxford Reference
- SWOT analysis videoA short (4:39 min.) video from AssistKD which introduces the concept of the SWOT analysis and looks at how it influences understanding of the strategic position of an organisation.
SMART is an acronym for the 5 steps of setting specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-based goals.
For more help with SMART objectives, have a look at these sites:
- SMART objectives11 Project objectives examples and how to write them
- Creating SMART goalsA guide to creating SMART goals and objectives from Ohio State University, including (non-marketing) examples
6. Market Research
The above tutorial will show you how to search these two databases:
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
7. Industry information
| Passport GMID |
Below is an example search in Passport GMID for the company MODIBODI, who make period and incontinence underwear.
- On the Home Page, locate the Country Reports: Datagraphics Box.
- Select your chosen industry, product category and region. Select GO.
- Your country report should automatically open.
- Using the menu at the top of the report, you can navigate through different information such as industry analysis, datagraphics and related industries.World
| IBISWorld |
Below is an example search in IBISWorld for industry reports relevant to Brighte, a company that provides payment solutions for home improvements.
- Type your chosen industry into the search. Select Search.
- Use the left menu to limit your search to Region: Australia and Content Type: Industry. (The results list will update automatically).
- Select the industry report that is relevant. When in a report the menu on the left hand side allows you to navigate easily to sections of the report, including Competitive Landscape and Major Companies
This symbol on the left hand side of the report indicates a Risk Rating Report is available for that industry, click to access
| D&B Hoovers |
- D&B HooversIncludes access to industry and market research reports, both Australian and Global. Also includes SWOT Analysis reports for the top 5,000 global companies.
The following videos on D&B Hoovers will get you started:
- Find industry information (3:08)
- Find company information (2:56)
| Other places to look |
- ABI/INFORM CollectionThis database contains articles covering all aspects of the broad area of business, applied economics and law. It also incorporates titles from Asian Business Database, European Business, Accounting & Tax database and Banking Information databases plus thousands more. It has archives, trade publications and Wall Street Journal (Eastern)
- Keeping currentTo find out what is trending in the entrepreneurship and small business world have a look at our recommended resources in our Entrepreneurship Guide.
8. Study Help
Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report.
See the below resources for additional support, or visit Study Help for more study and assignment resources:
9. Referencing support
- Referencing websiteHelp with various referencing styles. Find in-text citations and reference examples from different sources such as articles, books and chapters, websites and more.
Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the citation style required for your course.
