BUSS 5139: Project Management for Business
1. What you need to know
This page will assist you to find scholarly information to support your assessments.
Please refer to your course outline and course learnonline site for full assessment details.
2. Plan your search
Planning your search is a critical step in helping you locate relevant information.
- Identify the key concepts, including the aspects of the project management process you want to analyse, and any synonyms you could use
- Remove task words from your assignment question eg. how, describe, analyse
- Think about what types of information you need - which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
- Check the assignment requirements - do you need to use recent information?
- Watch the video (2 min 26 sec) below to learn more about how to plan your search
3. Finding news media
You may want to search news sources to find information on your project. You can search for newspaper articles in the Library Collection and in a range of News databases.
Finding a newspaper article using the library collection:
- Library CollectionResults from the Library Collection search does not automatically include newspaper articles, but you can add them back in to your results after searching.
After you have entered your search use the filters on the right hand side of the screen to find newspaper articles. Under Resource Type select Newspapers search.
Finding a newspaper article using a database:
Alternatively you can search in News databases. The databases listed below contain both Australian and international content:
- NewsBank NewspapersInclude national and international titles.
- Australia & New Zealand NewsstreamFind selected full text from Australian and New Zealand newspapers and newswires.
- News media guideMore information on finding newspaper articles from both Australia and around the world can be found in the News Media Subject Guide.
4. Finding information
- Library CollectionThe Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
To do a search, try using:
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect using AND, OR and NOT
At the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
- Library collection search tipsSee Library Collection Help for additional searching tips.
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database subject list, and select the > next to the Business and Management heading. For this course choose the Finance databases.
- Database listBrowse databases by category or alphabetically.
- More Finance DatabasesList of Finance databases subscribed to by the Library.
Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2019-2024.
- Business Source UltimateBusiness Source Ultimate is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Content covers the areas of finance, accounting, economics, international business, management, marketing and tourism. It's also a good source for company information.
Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.
You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the scholarly/peer reviewed option. You can also limit your search by date range.
- Google Scholar via UniSA LibraryGoogle Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet.
By accessing Google Scholar from the library website, you can see articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Click on the Google Scholar tab and enter your search terms into the search box.
On the results page, you can filter your results from the left-hand menu.
Watch the following to find out more:
5. Write your Assignment
You also need to understand the requirements of your assignment. The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types.
Have a look at following:
- Study Help: Assignment WritingResources and tips for assignment planning and writing.
- Group AssignmentsResources and tips for working successfully in a group, including dealing with any challenges that may arise.
- Oral presentationsHelpful resources on planning a group presentation, dealing with questions and how to present.
6. Referencing Support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise, and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. EndNote automates citing your references and allows you to create and organise a library of references. For more information and to download the software, check out the EndNote Guide: