BUSS 5384: Business Ethics
1. BUSS 5384: Business Ethics - Assessments 1 & 2
This page has been created to assist you with reflective writing for assessment 1 and to help you find information and write a report for assessment 2.
Note: Refer to your course outline for assessment details.
2. Assessment 1: Reflective writing
If you're not familiar with reflective writing as an assignment task, this video (2 min 15 sec) and the resources below it may assist you in understanding what is required.
- Introduction to reflective practice (UniSA)This online module was developed by the Student Engagement Unit and provides an introduction to reflective writing practice for students at the University of South Australia
- Reflective writing (UNSW)A guide to reflective writing developed by the University of NSW
- Reflective writing (QUT)A quick guide to reflective writing from the Queensland University of Technology
3. Assessment 2: Case Studies
Discussion paper / case analysis
Read information on case studies from the Student Engagement Unit Study Hub to get started.
- Study Help: Case studiesA collection of resources on how to write effective case studies.
4. Finding resources for your reflections and report
- Library CollectionThe Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine that searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
To do a search, try using
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect words and phrases using AND, OR and NOT
At the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
- Library collection search tipsSee Ask the Library for additional searching tips.
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.
Tip: You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.
Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website. You will be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Watch the video below to find out more:
5. Find Company Information
Business Source Ultimate
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
Use the More option in Business Source Ultimate to search for international company profiles.
Passport
- PassportPassport (Global Marketing Information Database) is a global market research database providing statistics, market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.
Use Passport to find information on international companies.
More help
- Company and Industry InformationLook at this guide to look up real company or industry data to include in your report. It can help you find public and private company and industry information.
- News MediaUse this guide to find news sources and media releases, and to learn more about fake and satirical news.
6. Select appropriate references
While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. You may be asked to use scholarly or peer-reviewed material to support your arguments.
You should evaluate all resources before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or databases.
More help
7. Report Writing
Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video (2 min 53 sec) for tips on how to write a report.
- Study Help: ReportsResources on how to write effective reports.
- Academic Integrity and ReferencingLearn about artificial intelligence (AI) use and academic integrity in your studies.
8. Referencing Support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise, and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. EndNote automates citing your references and allows you to create and organise a library of references. For more information and to download the software, check out the EndNote Guide: