Business: MBA research

Welcome

Welcome to the UniSA Library. This page has been created to help you locate key online library resources to support you throughout your MBA. Before exploring this guide please watch the video below to learn how you can get the most out of the UniSA Library:

Ebooks

UniSA Library has a large eBook collection. Search for a specific title or browse using keywords in the library catalogue. For more information see our eBook guide:

Subject and Research Guides

Use our guides to find recommended subject specific resources. Guides include Accounting, Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, HRM, Management, Marketing and many more. 

Plan your search

Start by identifying keywords for your topic. Next, think of alternative words for your keywords that you can also include in your searching. 

The table below shows an example of keywords and alternative words that could be used in a search around performance management: 

Keywords Alternative Words
performance management performance review, performance appraisal
assessment feedback, evaluation, criticism
outcomes results, positive outcomes, negative outcomes

Below is an example of a search we could try using words from our table, in the database Business Source Complete

 "performance management" OR "performance review" AND feedback

undefined

 

Tip: The use of quotation marks keeps phrases together in your search results

Before you start searching please look at the resources below to help you search effectively:

  Watch: Study Help: Plan Your Search (2:26)

  Read: Plan your search

Find information

Search the Library Catalogue to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more. Use the tweak my results option to limit your search results.

 Watch this short video about using the Library Catalogue (1:48)

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website you will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Key databases

Find More Information

    Find Company and Industry information

Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.

This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.

  Harvard Business Review

The HBR provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key business tool. Watch the video below on how to search HBR and then start searching here

Case Studies

Explore thousands of real life business cases from all over the world:

   News Media

NewsBank Inc database lets you search thousands of Australian and International newspaper titles. For more media resources see our News Media guide:

Evaluating Resources

It is important to always evaluate the resources that you find. To help you evaluate your information please watch the below videos:

 Watch: Study Help: Evaluating Information (3:17)

 Watch: Study Help: Scholarly Sources Explained (2:22) 

Referencing Support and Endnote

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
It is important to accurately cite your sources in academic writing. The Referencing Roadmap tool will show you how to format your references using the Harvard-UniSA style. 

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing hub
    Information around what is referencing, paraphrasing, referencing rules, referencing styles and Academic Integrity. Also includes a link to the Harvard Referencing Guide UniSA (pdf).
     
  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References to decide which tool is best for you to get started.  

Help