Skip to Main Content

BUIL 2018 assignment 2

1. What you need to do

Assignment Help BUIL 2028 Assignment 2

Assignment 2 for Building Estimating is an individual essay.

Before you start, it is strongly recommended that you:

1. Read the assessment instructions available on your learnonline course site. 

2. Read the Writing Essays information on the Study Help site.

Start here- Search

Planning your search is key to getting the most out of your search results. Click on the SEIRA Search Owl below to find more infomartion about how to plan your search. 

Navigate to SEIRA Search Owl module

   Read: How to plan your search

The printable page below outlines the key steps for planning your search as discussed in the 'Plan your search' video.

Step 1

   Identify keywords

Typing your question into Google or the Library Collection is not the best way to search.

Mapping out your search can be a good place to start:

  • Identify the keywords (also known as key concepts) in the assignment question - these are the words which give meaning to the question, the main ideas
  • Remove task words (also known as instruction words) from your assignment question - these are the words telling you what to do with the key concepts (e.g. analyse, compare, discuss)
   Test your knowledge

Step 2

   Consider alternative keywords

Now you've identified the keywords in your assignment question, try doing the following to help you understand your keywords and find similar or alternative keywords:

Use the course readings, an encyclopedia, dictionary or reliable websites to understand your topic

Use a thesaurus to help you find similar or alternative keywords

Do some basic initial searching using the keywords you've already identified to see what other words are used in the papers you find. Create a mindmap or table to help you brainstorm alternative keywords

   Test your knowledge

Step 3

   Connect your keywords

Once you have identified your keywords and found alternative keywords, you need to connect these to put your search together.

Use the following operator words, which most search tools will have, to indicate how you want the tool to search for your keywords:

  • OR: Combines similar keywords
  • AND: Combines different keywords
  • NOT: Excludes words from the search (use cautiously and only when necessary or you might exclude results you actually want)

Remember to use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together and (brackets) to keep synonyms together.

   Test your knowledge

Where to search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.  The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

 Video Length: 2:14

5. Start your search

Library Collection search example

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search. You can use it to find journal articles, papers, book chapters, and reports.

To search in the Library Collection:

1. Type your main concepts into the search box

Image only
  • Tip: use double quotes to keep concepts together as a phrase.

2. Broaden your search by adding synonyms using the connector OR.

Image only

  • Tip: Use brackets (...) to group synonyms together.

3. Apply filters by using the 'Tweak my results' menu (left side).

  • Tip: You may want to limit your results by adding a date range filter.

​​​

More help:

Search the Library Collection

Interactive Tutorial

Library databases are online collections of resources which you can use to find articles, papers, book chapters and reports that aren't listed in the Library catalogue. A key database for construction is ProQuest Central.

To search in ProQuest Central:

1. Type your first concepts into the search box.

  • Tip: change to search in Anywhere except full text - NOFT

2. Select + Add Search Field and add your second concept into the search box

3. Refine your search by using the filters in the left menu.

  • Tip: You may want to limit your results by adding a Publication Date range filter.

Try using Google Scholar to find scholarly sources or material from education and government websites.

 

To use the Advanced Scholar Search:

  1. Access Google Scholar through the Library homepage, link your session to UniSA library.
  2. Click the Menu button in the top left corner.
  3. Select Advanced Search to access more searching options.
  4. Look for PDF links or 'Fulltext at UniSA' links to access the resource.

 

More help:

Evaluate

Now that you have some resources, how do you know if they are good quality, or scholarly? Click on the SEIRA Evaluate Owl below to find out more about finding scholarly sources and evaluating your findings effectively.

Navigate to SEIRA Evaluate module

   Evaluate your resources

While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment.  You should evaluate all resources  before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Catalogue or Databases. Watch the following video on Evaluating Information to learn some useful tips on how to evaluate your resources.

 Video Length: 3:16

   Read: Critically analysing a website

Integrate

Now that you are developing an understanding of what are appropriate sources to use in your writing, next is how to integrate the arguments and ideas into your own writing. Click on the SEIRA Integrate Owl below to learn more.

Navigate to SEIRA Integrate module

7. Referencing

Navigate to SEIRA Reference module

Now that you have the information needed for your assignment, it is time to review your referencing technique. Click on the SEIRA Referencing Owl above to find out more about how to reference successfully. 

Act ethically

All Construction Managers are required to attribute authorship of designs, plans, site maps, and documentation throughout their career. Click on the SEIRA Act Ethically Owl below to find out more.

Navigate to SEIRA Act Ethically Owl module

8. More help

 

For more help with this assignment please contact Ask the Library or the Student Engagement Unit.

 

Feedback