Education: EDUC 1041 Children's Development: Conception to 3 years

Assessment Task

This Assignment Help Guide will get you started in finding material for Assessment 2, Stage 2: Researching the Developmental Topic.

For this part of the assessment you need to read and make notes from relevant sections in the Berk text book as well as two other sources. It is recommended that you find a chapter in a handbook or an encyclopedia entry that relates to your chosen topic for Assessment 2. 

Always read the assessments information in your course website and outline to understand exactly what you need to do.

Locate and evaluate

 

You have been asked to find chapters in handbooks or an encyclopedia entry.

Handbooks and encyclopedias give a great overview of a topic and usually make it easy for the reader to understand.

You may need to search for these using the broader subject, such as Child Development, in order to locate a chapter that is relevant to your chosen topic.

Your resources should be no older than 10 years.

Click on the tabs learn how to search for these resources

Search the Library Catalogue


When searching the Library Catalogue keep the search as simple as possible.  Start your search with broad terms.

Example:  Rather than searching "visual and auditory perception: birth to 9 months", use the broader keyword"perception"

Try the broad search first and try to refine that search using the techniques below. 

If you still have too many results, then use a more narrow term or phrase.

Example:

  • perception "child development"
  • perception infant
  • visual perception development
  • perception toddler

You can also use related terms or synonyms if you are not finding the right results.

Example: Instead of "fine motor development" try searching "motor skills"

Refine Your Search

Once you have run the search you can review the results and consider other ways to refine the list. 

You can add another search term OR Use the options in the 'Tweak my Results' menu on the left hand side to limit your results such as:

  • Resource Type (e.g. Books or Book Chapters)
  • Publication Date (e.g. 2008 - 2019)
  • Subject (e.g. Child development, infants, perception in children)

 

What is Google Scholar?  Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature across many disciplines.

Google Scholar:

  • includes peer reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles that are currently available on the web
  • sources from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organisations

Attention Green [http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Attention_green.svg] License under ‘common property’ (http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Commons:Threshold_of_originality) Hint...

Always access Google Scholar from the Google Scholar link on the Library home page.  This will enable access to the full text if held by UniSA.

By using the Advanced Search feature you can control your search and limit by date. Advanced search is found in the Google Scholar menu (Three lines in the top left hand corner)

Example:

 

Is your information relevant or reliable?  Not sure whether to use the information you have found?   There are some simple ways to evaluate your results.


Watch   Study Help: Evaluating Information

Or use the CRAAP test.

The CRAAP Test was developed by the Meriam Library at California State University to help you evaluate the information you find.

Assess the resource against the following criteria:

This guide has been adapted from the Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test by California State University  

 

Loading ...

Ask the Library

If you would like assistance from Library staff in searching please use one of the following Ask the Library options:

  • Online Chat
  • Email
  • Phone
  • use the Library/IT Service Point located in the Library

Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS)

PASS image - Image source: UniSAThe Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS) program is:

  • run by students who have excelled in particular courses
  • assist with your understanding of course content
  • relaxed and informal environment
  • FREE! - no need to book check the timetable and attend any session!
Sessions for EDUC1041 Children's Development: Conception to 3 years held at Magill  and online.
 
Click on the link below to view the timetable

More Help

Referencing Roadmap
Make sure to use the Referencing Roadmap for help with your referencing
Study Help
The Study Help guide has lots of information on assignments, study skills, referencing and more.