Guides: Education: In-Service Teachers

UniSA Library membership

Alumni Network
Keep up-to-date with a free UniSA Alumni membership.
Alumni Library membership
Provides access to the Library's print collection and limited online resources.

Other Libraries

Libraries SA
Access to physical resources from across the state. Many Public Libraries also offer online resources that can be accessed from home.
State Library of South Australia
Collects and maintains the documented history of the state.
National Library of Australia
Provides access to the nation’s library collections and services.
National Library of Australia eResources
Register for NLA membership and access those resources with a key icon.

Australian professional standards for teachers

The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers comprise seven Standards which outline what teachers should know and be able to do at graduate and higher levels. These standards are reflected in the University of graduate qualities. The Library offers a range of resources to help with your research in gaining a knowledge of the standards and how to develop professional practice to meet these standards at graduate level.

UniSA Graduate Qualities
The University of South Australia has adopted as institutional policy a statement of seven graduate qualities as the outcomes it seeks for its undergraduates.
Australian Professional Standards for Teachers
Help you understand and develop your teaching practice and expertise across 4 career stages. By demonstrating the Standards you can have maximum impact on all learners.

Watch this short video (2 min 14 sec) from the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership:

Working in education in South Australia

The South Australian Department for Education provides information on:

Careers in Schools and Preschools
Find and apply for vacancies in schools and preschools or register for work in the South Australian Department for Education.

Requirements for employment, including teacher registration:

Teachers Registration Board of South Australia
The Board regulates the teaching profession in South Australia. Further information on the registration process can be found here.
Teacher employment Requirements and Registration
Information on the employment requirements for registration in South Australian government schools and preschools can be found here.

The Association of Independent Schools of South Australia (AISSA) promote employment opportunities through:

Teachers On Net

Search Catholic Education South Australia Vacant Positions here:

Catholic Education South Australia: Positions vacant

Professional Development in South Australia

EducatorsSA
Dedicated to supporting all educators in South Australia to be the best professionals they can be!
Geography Teachers' Association of SA (GTASA)
Aims to support the interests and endeavours of geography teachers in South Australia.
The Mathematical Association of South Australia (MASA)
Objective is to arouse interest in mathematics, to effect improvements in the teaching of mathematics and its implications.
Music Teachers' Association of SA Inc. (MTASA)
The professional association for private studio music teachers.
School Library Association of South Australia (SLASA)
Represents and supports the interests of school library personnel across all education sectors in South Australia through advocacy, professional development and communication.
South Australian English Teachers Association (SAETA)
Professional association of South Australian English Teachers.
South Australian Science Teachers Association (SASTA)
Aims 'to promote and support the teaching of science in schools', and 'to foster the professional development of science teachers'.
Teachers Registration Board of South Australia
Established under Acts of Parliament to regulate the teaching profession.
Primary English Teaching Association Australia (PETAA)
National, not-for-profit professional association supporting primary school educators in the teaching and learning of English and literacies across the curriculum.
Visual Arts Educators South Australia (VAESA)
Professional association of Visual Arts educators in South Australia.

General teaching resources

Australian Curriculum Lessons
A user submitted site for educators in Australia. Teachers post their lessons so other teachers can get ideas and lessons to use in the classroom
TES: Lesson resources
Made by teachers for teachers. K-12 resources.
ABC: Education
A library of media clips mapped to the Australian Curriculum. Includes a range of interactive tools, games and objects to meet learning needs.
Cool Australia: Curriculum materials
Resources are mapped to relevant year levels, learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities of the Australian Curriculum.
Khan Academy
Offers practice exercises, instructional videos. Tackling math, science, computing, history, art history, economics,including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content.
Scootle
A national repository that provides Australian schools with digital resources aligned to the Australian Curriculum.
cK-12
Providing free access to open-source content and technology tools that empower students as well as teachers to enhance and experiment with different learning styles, resources, levels of competence, and circumstances.
Pics 4 Learning
A curated image library that is safe and free for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.
For Teachers for students
Specifically designed for busy educators who want fast and intuitive access to flexible, curriculum-appropriate education resources that can be easily adapted to meet the learning needs of their students.
Copyright Agency: Reading Australia
Provides quality and insightful resources to support English and literacy teachers in bringing Australia’s rich and unique literature into classrooms.
TeacherTube
Easily find vetted and trusted educational videos and even create your own playlist to correspond with your teaching lessons.

Mathematics Open Educational Resources

Maths300
Owned and maintained by the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT), lessons have accompanying interactive software that can be used by the teachers and students to demonstrate or model the concepts that are taught in the lesson from Years 1-12.
Mathematics Centre
A professional development site that contains maths resources supporting hands-on problem solving and tasks.
University of Cambridge: Faculty of Mathematics: NRICH
Provides thousands of free online mathematics resources for ages 3 to 18, covering all stages of early years, primary and secondary school education.
Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI) Schools: TIMES Module
Modules are organised under the strand titles of the Australian Curriculum containing a discussion of a component of the mathematics curriculum from early primary up to the end of Year 10.
MoneySmart.gov.au: Lesson plans
In collaboration with ACARA and aligned to the Australian Curriculum Version 9.0, these lesson plans are engaging activities that bring everyday financial topics into the classroom.
CSIRO: Double Helix Blog
Packed with fun, exciting and quality articles, promotes critical thinking and strengthens literacy skills while sparking an interest in science, technology, engineering and maths.
Tang Math
Focus on fewer, more powerful strategies and teaching methods, and mastery of fundamental skills and concepts.
wootube
Find joy in learning mathematics, lesson videos arranged according to year and topic.
Stanford Education: youcubed
Inspire ALL Students with Open, Creative, Mindset Mathematics

Science Open Educational Resources

Australian Government: GeoScience Australia
Producing teaching resources for primary and secondary levels. Resources include background information, student activities, full-colour cut-out 3D models and posters.
CSIRO: Sustainable Futures
Designed to support primary and secondary teachers working with students in Years 3 to 10. Teachers who register with the program receive free access to digital teaching resources which includes ideas and activities to support teaching sustainability and the environment in Australian schools.
Life Noggin: Keep on thinking
A YouTube channel educating you on science and the world around you, answering questions about the life you live and the brain that helps you navigate it.
RiAus: Education
Access FREE videos, articles, podcasts, resources and teacher tools, linked to the Australian National Curriculum, to inspire and support your STEM teaching, anytime, anywhere.
Australian Academy of Science: Primary Connections: Linking science with literacy
A flagship primary school science program, an innovative approach to teaching and learning which aims to enhance primary school teachers' confidence and competence for teaching science.

Arts Open Educational Resources

Arts:Live
Provides extensive cross-curricular resources and content across all Australian Curriculum. with sequential, easy to follow instructions to bring the arts to life in your classroom.
ArtsPOP
Delivers expert advice in the arts through Packages of Practice (Arts-POP) to help Australian teachers develop lessons, units of work and classroom strategies for The Arts Foundation to Year 10.
Australian Screen: an NFSA website
Includes teachers’ notes that identify and describe the educational values of many of the film clips.
National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA)
Includes video and audio recordings, as well as contextual materials such as costumes, scripts, props, photographs and promotional materials.
National Library of Australia: Digital Classroom
Aligned to the Australian Curriculum and supports a variety of classroom contexts and learning styles. It adopts an inquiry approach, allowing students to analyse sources, develop skills and draw their own conclusions about the Australian story.
TeachStarter: Visual Arts Teaching Resources
Teaching resources, classroom solutions, and educator apps gives K-6 teachers the tools and inspiration they need to design unique and impactful classroom experiences.