Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: EndNote with Word

Cite While You Write (CWYW)

Why use CWYW?

  • Insert citations to create intext citations.
  • Automatically creates a reference list/bibliography from the inserted citations.
  • Allows you to change the format of your reference list/bibliography. 

What it won't do:

  • Teach you how to reference correctly - you need to know your reference style.
  • Fix mistakes in your reference. If you don't make corrections in Endnote, errors will carry over to word when you insert the references.

Short Course

 Video Length: 1:25:20

Attention Mac users: The current 'Cite While You Write' Add-in does not work with MS Word in M1 Macbooks. However, there is a workaround instruction here.

Tips when using with Word

Never manually change an EndNote reference in your document.
Always use the Edit & Manage Citation(s) tool in the EndNote tab in Word to make changes including adding page numbers or deleting. Citations inserted from EndNote have code in the background. Manually making changes can corrupt the code and cause issues with your document.

NOTE: Before merging documents all references must be located in the same EndNote library.
There are 2 main options when merging documents with EndNote citations:

  • Merge documents - one bibliography
    To avoid corrupting your document use the EndNote tab in Word to select 'Convert to Unformatted Citations'. You will see the bibliography is removed and intext citations appear in curly brackets for example {Audard, 2007 #32}. It is now safe to copy and paste into a new document. Create a page break after each section and repeat until all documents have been copied. Click on 'Update Citations and Bibliography'.

  • Merge documents - multiple bibliographies
    In EndNote go to Edit 'Output Style' and select a style (we recommend creating a copy). Go to 'Sections' here you will see options to create a bibliography for each section. Follow instructions above.


EndNote and Word are linked together with code. It is possible to create a copy that is no longer linked with EndNote. This can avoid issues when sending a document to someone else. Always keep a master version which is still linked in case you need to make any changes as you cannot undo once you have converted to plain text.

  • Windows: Select 'Convert citations and Bibliography' choose 'Convert to Plain Text'
  • Mac: Select 'Tools' and choose 'Convert to Plain Text'


Make sure you save the copy with a different name so you know it is the plain text version.

When you click on an EndNote citation in Word you will see the citation becomes shaded. You can change this option to always shaded. 

  • Windows: Click File/Office icon in the top left corner of Word and select "Options". Click "Advanced" and scroll down to "Show document content" to find "Field shading" options.
  • Mac: Click the Word menu and choose "Preferences" select "View" to change the "Field Shading" that is listed under "Show" or "Show in document". 

If you are using a footnoted style such as Chicago or AGLC it is possible to also use EndNote.
 

  • Use the Reference Tab within Word to insert a Footnote
  • Use EndNote tab to insert citation into Footnote  

For more information watch this Footnotes video by EndNote

CWYW - Video Tutorials

video on screenAdding Citations

Editing Citations

Removing Citations

  • For Windows
  • Mac users - same instructions as above with slight changes to the interface.

Bibliography

Additional Videos

  • The EndNote Training channel on YouTube has a full list of videos featuring EndNote with Word. 

Convert to plain text

EndNote and Word are linked together with code. It is possible to create a copy that is no longer linked with EndNote. This can avoid issues when sending a document to someone else. Always keep a master version which is still linked in case you need to make any changes as you cannot undo once you have converted to plain text.

  • Windows: Select 'Convert citations and Bibliography' choose 'Convert to Plain Text'
     
  • Mac: Select 'Tools' and choose 'Convert to Plain Text'


Make sure you save the copy with a different name so you know it is the plain text version.