Other library websites and help links
Search across all UniSA pages
Enter your search terms
English Language Resources
Search this Guide
English Language Resources: Reference Materials
Courses and services
UniSA Support Services
English Language Support
General English/Australian Dictionaries
Oxford English dictionary online
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words.
The Macquarie dictionary is constantly updated with Australian Language words
The Cambridge guide to Australian English usage
Up-to-date, evidence-based account of the variable points in Australian usage and style, in alphabetical format.
Concise dictionary of business management
Reference guide for students and professionals wanting to cut through the jargon.
Dictionary of human resources and personnel management
Offers many key terms covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations.
Economics : an A-Z guide
Clear and lively guide to the essentials of economics.
Encyclopedia of tourism
Comprehensive and updated source of reference in tourism research and practice.
Essential accounting dictionary
Up-to-date, authorative reference, containing over 3,000 entries explaining the most commonly used accounting terms.
Essential finance : the essential A-Z
Everything you need to know about the financial world.
Wiley international encyclopedia of marketing
One of the premier business reference sources available.
UniSA Clinical and Health Sciences
Dictionary of nursing : over 11,000 terms clearly defined
Covers both everyday vocabulary relating to patient care and terms from medical specialisations such as psychiatry.
English for pharmacy writing and oral communication
English for pharmacy. Hard copy book only available.
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions
Includes detailed entries that give you the knowledge needed to communicate effectively.
Preparing and delivering scientific presentations: a complete guide for international medical scientists
Aimed at health care professionals who need English for their work but do not speak English on a day-to-day basis.
Professional English in use: medicine
Only available as a hard copy book.
Oxford art online
Covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day
That or which, and why: a usage guide for thoughtful writers and editors
Compiled of brief, alphabetically arranged entries on approximately 200 major writing stumbling blocks.
UniSA Education Futures
Dictionary of Education
Comprehensive resource on John Dewey's approach to education.
International encyclopedia of education
Work encompasses over 1,350 articles across 24 individual areas.
UniSA Justice and Society
Law and Psychology Dictionaries
Blackwell dictionary of sociology; a user's guide to sociological language
Explanations of common sociological terms.
Student's dictionary of psychology
Essential reference for all undergraduate psychology students.
Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary
Containing over 25,000 definitions (legal words and phrases, including references to legislation and cases).
Computing, IT and Environmental Studies Dictionaries
BCS glossary of computing and ICT
Study aid and reference tool
The Cambridge aerospace dictionary
Technical literature of the aerospace industry and about specific air and spacecraft.
Dictionary for managing trees in urban environments
List of terms used in the universal management of urban trees.
Dictionary of Aeronautical Terms
Common terms and acronyms used.
Dictionary of environment and ecology
Definitions of over 8,000 terms from all aspects of ecology and environmental fields.
Dictionary of fire protection engineering
Contains a broad yet detailed coverage of the major aspects of fire engineering.
Dictionary of information technology
Contains common terms and acronyms.
Engineering language : a consolidation of the words and their definitions
Explains the major, commonly used words found in engineering documents and drawings.
Glossary of selected computing terms
Defines common computing terms.
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Science
Providing key information on major scientists and events that have changed the course of history
Science research writing for non-native speakers of English
Designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English
Technical English abbreviations for Engineers
Useful acronyms and other short forms for engineers and other technical staff.
Written English: A guide for Electrical and Electronic Students and Engineers
Designed to assist Electrical studies students
Oct 15, 2021 4:00 PM
Login to LibApps
Can we help you?