BUSS 5249: Managerial Finance - Assessment 2
1. Assessment 2: Report
For Assessment Two you will need to write a report which describes a substantive application, or applications, of learnings from the course.
Note: Please see your course outline and course site for the full assessment details and for the report format.
2. Financial information
Use the resources below to help you find financial data:
- ASX websiteFind market index data.
- Market IndexMarket Index is a financial portal for the Australian stock market. From here you can find an index of the top listed companies.
Financial Databases
- DatAnalysis Premium - MorningstarProvides comprehensive information for all Australian Stock Exchange listed companies.
- EikonA comprehensive investment tool used by financial and investment analysts, providing information on, among others, global markets, equities, equity indices, and historical equity data.
- StatistaThe statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies.
More help
- Company financialsCompany financials page in the Company and Industry Information guide
3. Other financial data resources
Australian sources
- Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) Chart PackUpdated monthly, the RBA Chart Pack provides a summary of financial market trends, a summary of macroeconomic information and trading partner developments.
- ASX Historical Market StatisticsLists the end-of-month values and the number of listed companies and securities on ASX from today to 2010.
- Australian Market StatisticsMarket Index publishes Australian stock market information, tracking performance over time.
- RBA Financial Stability ReviewContains the RBAs assessment of risks to financial stability and the condition of the financial system. Includes topics of interest and articles.
International sources
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Monthly Monetary and Financial Statistics (MEI)Monthly statistical dataset covering monetary aggregates, interest rates, exchange rates, and share prices across 36 OECD member countries and selected other countries.
4. Company and industry information
- Company and Industry InformationFurther details about relevant key databases that can assist with analysing company performance can be found in this guide created by the Library.
5. Business Source Ultimate and ABI/INFORM
Business Source Ultimate
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
An example search in Business Source Ultimate:
ABI/INFORM collection
- ABI/INFORM CollectionThis database contains articles covering all aspects of the broad area of business, applied economics and law.
6. Plan your search
Before you start searching you should:
- Identify the main concepts within your topic or question
- Think of alternative words or synonyms you could also search for
The video (2 min 26 sec) below will guide you through planning your search.
- How to plan your search guide - PDF (276 KB)Learn more about how to plan your search through this document developed by the Library.
7. What are academic sources?
Academic references can be referred to scholarly sources or peer reviewed (refereed). These can include journal articles, books, book chapters, reports and other sources. To find out more about academic references look at the resources below:
Tip: When searching in the library catalogue you can filter your results to show only 'peer reviewed'.
8. How to write a report
Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together.
Watch the video (2 min 53 sec) below to help you write a report for your assignment.
- Study Help: ReportsExplore more resources on reports and report writing from this online hub developed by SEU.
Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.