UniSA College Foundation Studies: Help

University Studies Training Videos

These videos will help you get the most out of the Library for your studies.

Video 1 Library Orientation

undefinedVideo length: 5 minutes 27 seconds

Video 1: Library orientation

  • Find the Library Home Page
  • Ask the Library
  • Library opening hours
  • Book a study room
  • Feedback for the Library
  • Navigating the top banner
  • Library guides

Video2 Planning your search

undefinedVideo length: 14 minutes 26 seconds

Video 2: Planning your search

  • Your question
  • Plan your search video
  • Identify keywords in your question
  • Identify concepts in your question
  • Create a mindmap
  • Searching strategies
  • Connecting keywords and concepts
  • Truncation

Video 3 Where to search

undefinedVideo length: 7 minutes 10 seconds

Video 3: Where to search

  • Choosing where to search video
  • Search the Library Catalogue

Video 4 Ulrichsweb and databases

undefinedVideo length: 2 minutes 48 seconds

Video 4: Ulrichsweb and databases

  • Databases
  • Ulrichsweb

Video 5 Searching Google Scholar

undefinedVideo length: 2 minutes 46 seconds

Video 5: Searching Google Scholar

  • BrowZine and LibKey Nomad
  • Why use Google Scholar
  • Accessing Google Scholar
  • Searching Google Scholar

Video 6 Peer reviewed and evaluating information

undefinedVideo length: 8 minutes 32 seconds

Video 6: Peer reviewed and evaluating information

  • Scholarly sources explained video
  • Identifying an edited book
  • Analysing abstract/description and how to note take well
  • Identifying peer reviewed
  • The CRAAP test and evaluating information
  • Need more help
  • UniSA College Foundation Studies guide
  • Ask the LIbrary

Library help

Navigate to Ask the Library webpage

IT Help

The Student Software Catalogue allows students to access a range of applications from their own device, even at home. This includes a range of software which can be downloaded and installed, or accessed via the web.

 

LinkedIn LearningTeach yourself with LinkedIn Learning. LinkedIn Learning is an online library of high-quality instructional videos on the the use of the latest software, tools and skills, with over 4,000 courses. Access the playlist for the UniSA College here.

  Need expert help?  

Log an IT Help Desk request.

English Language Resources guide

This guide provides links to resources and services to assist students learning English as a second language

Referencing help

   Referencing
   Why you should manage your references

Referencing is how you acknowledge or provide evidence of other people's work in your academic writing.

Learn more by watching Managing Your References.

 Video Length: 1:55

   What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote, although there are many free systems available.

More information on EndNote can be found in the EndNote guide.

navigate to the EndNote guide

Student Support

Improve your academic literacy skills

The University provides a range of services and resources to support you as a student. 

Try one of the following:

Writing Support

 


Studiosity, formerly Your Tutor , offers an ‘online classroom’, where you can chat with a learning adviser. The associated 'Check Mate' service helps with English, writing and referencing.

Study skills books