Your assessment for HLTH 1036 requires you to complete a Reflection of Learning and a Community Health Assessment Report.
This assignment help is designed to assist you with your:
both which require you to find peer-reviewed and scholarly sources of literature.
Please refer to your course outline for full assessment details.
View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website for help planning your assignment and making sense of the assignment and instruction words.
"Delivery of Healthcare"
For further help on planning your search and locating relevant information take a look at the Plan your Search Guide. For further information on truncation and wildcards see this guide.
The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
Use the Library Catalogue:
Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial. Simply click on the image below to start.
Journal articles are often found in databases.
Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many. Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:
If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research.
Emcare (via Ovid): includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health
Search Emcare Tutorial
Medline: The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health.
Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences.
Informit Health Collection for Australian information
ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)
Articles from Peer reviewed journals are of high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.
The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.
Watch the Scholarly sources explained video – it takes under 3 minutes and features an academic from the School of Health Sciences.
View the guide How to find scholarly sources for more information.
Watch the below video 'Peer Review in 3 Minutes' by NCSU Libraries. Published under a Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US license.
Google Scholar is a free service for searching scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Watch the following videos on how to conduct:
You may also find it useful to complete the interactive tutorial on Learning to Search in Google Scholar.
Now that you have done your research, it is time to put that information together. The Study Help page provides information and tips on academic writing skills and referencing.
Harvard UniSA referencing resources and guides
Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources. See:
The sources that you use, the writings and ideas of other people to write your assignments, MUST be acknowledged by using a referencing system.