Information Technology: MATH 2024 Mathematical Communication

Image of Mathematical Communication banner

SP5 (2018) Assessment: Mathematical Paper - project and presentations  (50%)

Length: 2000 words equivalent                                                                                                                                                          

Duration: 2 x 10 min oral presentations

For topic choices please refer to the class handout 'Guidelines and Topics for the Mathematical Paper 2018'

For further assessment information please refer to the Course Outline

Plan your search

 Planning your search helps you find information more efficiently.

A search strategy will give you the best chance to get the most relevant search results.

The planning process involves: 

  Identifying the main concepts in your research question.

 Thinking of any relevant synonyms (similar concepts).

 Connecting your concepts together using AND and OR to form a search.

  • AND: combines different concepts - mathematics AND history
  • OR: combines similar keywords - mathematics OR numeracy OR arithmetic

Applying phrase searching, truncation or wildcard symbols.

  • Phrase searching: use double quotes to find words in that exact order
    e.g. "mathematical statistics"
  • Truncation: words that begin with the same stem/root.
    Use an asterisk * to find variations
    e.g. math* will find math, maths, mathematics, mathematical etc.
  • Wildcard: assists with finding words spelled in different ways.
    Use the question mark ? in place of a letter
    e.g. organi?ation finds organization , organisation

Watch this short video to learn more:

Finding Information

Searching is a skill that takes time to develop.

Ensure you allow plenty of time to search. These Library discovery tools allow you to build a search using your keywords and concepts and customize the search to suit your needs.

For this assessment you will need to use scholarly literature.

Scholarly or academic is an umbrella term for several different kinds of authoritative and credible sources including peer reviewed articles, and some books and resources known as ‘grey literature’.

Watch this short video to learn more:

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information.
It searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

Use the Library Catalogue:

  • to find a book or ebook
  • to find a journal article
  • to find information in books, journals and other materials on a topic
  • Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author, Subject or Journal Title. 
    All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date, e.g. 2014 to 2018
  • Limit by Subject – this will ensure the article has a major focus on your subject
  • See the full text for electronic items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link. There may be several options to choose from. This is because we may have access through more than one publisher or database.
  • Sort by Date (newest) to see most recent items first.
  • If you still have too many results, you may need to further refine your search.
  • See Library Catalogue Help for additional searching tips.

Articles from Peer reviewed journals are of high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.

Want to know if a journal is peer reviewed? Check Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory.

More information is available from the guide How to find peer reviewed articles

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only.

Multidisciplinary databases:

Mathematic databases:

 Tip: You can find a full list of Library databases here:

Navigate to Google Scholar

You can also try searching Google Scholar.
Remember to access it through the Library Homepage to see UniSA full text.

Tip: You may find it easier to use the Advanced Search option. You can learn how by watching this video.

Loading ...

Evaluating your resources

Once you have found information it is important to think about whether or not the information is of a good quality. To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it in your academic work.

Watch this short video to learn how to evaluate information using the C.R.A.A.P. test

EndNote and LaTeX

Q: If I have a list of references in EndNote can I import it into a LaTeX reference list?'LaTeX logo', Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

A: Yes, you can import EndNote references into LaTeX reference list. LaTeX is a document preparation system for high-quality typesetting. It is most often used for medium to large technical or scientific documents but it can be used for almost any form of publishing. It is typically used for typesetting of complex mathematical formulas, advanced typesetting of mathematics with AMS-LaTeX, and automatic generation of bibliographies and indexes.

Watch 'Using EndNote Records with LaTeX' or try one of these:

More Help

If you need more help try one of these options:"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • Contact Ask the Library (via chat, email or phone). Chat and phone are available from 8.30am to midnight Monday to Friday and 10.00am to 6.00pm Saturday to Sunday (Australian Central Standard time). Email is available 24 hours
  • If you are in Adelaide ask at a Service Point located in the Library
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Contact the Student Engagement Unit for help with referencing, writing reports and essays, and plagiarism
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the Databases