Library buildings can only be accessed via swipe card until 30th November 2020.
Please check current information about other Library services impacted by Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Media Arts and Design: INFT 1015 Hollywood Film and Television

Introduction

This help page will get you started in finding material to include in your Annotated Bibliography

Always read the assessment information in your course website and outline to understand exactly what you need to do.

1. Developing your search plan

Example question

To what extent is the classical Hollywood narrative evident in contemporary animation? Discuss in relation to Pixar's Toy Story (1995).

1. Find the task word(s) in your question. For example:

  • "To what extent" and "discuss in relation to..."

2. Find the content words in your question. You can find these by taking the task word and adding the question "What?"

  • To what extent (what?)
    • is the classical Hollywood narrative evident in contemporary animation
  • ...to discuss in relation to (what?)
    • ​evident in contemporary animation

3. Find the parameters for your search

  • Context words - how are you going to frame your search? You might want to add some of the following terms in your search:
    • classical Hollywood cinema, 2D/3D animation

Watch the following video to learn more:

2. Start searching

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information.

To do a search, try using:

  • double quotes "..." for phrases. This keeps concepts together.
  • truncation* to find plural and other forms of a word

Use the Tweak my results menu to limit your results:

  • Peer-reviewed Journal publications
  • Publication date eg 2014 to 2019

Search the Library Catalogue

3. Peer reviewed journals

Peer reviewed (refereed) journals are of a high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published.

The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.

Watch the following video to learn more:

4. Searching Databases

Databases are searching tools for finding articles, papers, reports and more. Some databases are subject-specific, whilst others may cover multiple subject areas. You can limit search results to different types of publications, including peer reviewed journals. Results can be saved, emailed, printed. The databases below are useful for your subject area:

  • FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
    FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database is an acclaimed international compendium of information on film and television from International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). It covers film literature from 300 periodicals since 1972, and includes the FIAF thesaurus.
  • Project MUSE
    Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide.

Find more databases by browsing the database list by a subject area - for example Creative Arts.

Essay Writing and Annotated Bibliographies

For assistance with Essay Writing

For assistance with Annotated Bibliographies