Media Arts and Design: Journals

What are journals?

Flaticon_CC 3.0BYJournals are publications similar to magazines. They have issues published regularly (e.g. monthly) and focus on a particular subject. Articles in academic journals should be well researched, include references and be written by experts in that area.

Find relevant journals by searching in the Library Catalogue or Databases.

Do you need to find 'peer reviewed' articles?

See the short Library guide: Find Scholarly Sources

Here are some example peer reviewed journals:

Computer Graphics Forum Computer & Graphics E-Learning and Digital Media
Design Issues The Design Journal The Journal of Design History
IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications Journal of Visual Culture The Visual Computer

How can we tell? The Library catalogue and some databases allow you to limit your results to articles from peer reviewed journals.

Ulrichsweb 'peer reviewed' icon - [Image Source: Ulrichsweb]

If you're not sure use the database Ulrichsweb to search for the title of your journal. If it has the 'referee's jumper' icon this indicates the journal is refereed/peer reviewed. 

Google Scholar

While we don't recommend using Google to find journal articles Google Scholar can be useful. Similar to the Library catalogue it will find a range of publication types, such as books, journal articles, conference papers, and reports across all subject areas.

For tips on searching see our Beyond Google for your research guide or watch our video

Oxford art online

Oxford Art Online - reliable information on individual designers and architects, styles, periods, theory and more.

This is a key reference resource and an excellent starting point for your research that is scholarly and better regarded than most material found using search engines.

For example, there are entries for:

​Brunelleschi

Surrealism

Representation

Perspective

Illusionism

El Lissitzky

 

What are databases?

Databases are online collections you can use them to find journal articles. They may also include:

  • newspaper articles
  • reports
  • conference papers
  • images
  • videos and documentaries
  • and much more...

When you search the Library Catalogue you will find results from some of our databases, but not all of them. It will also find information from all subject areas.

By searching directly in a database on your subject it can help you find more relevant results.

Databases

See our database page for all our databases or see examples below:

Browse UniSA's subscribed journals and easily access PDFs

BrowZine

BrowZine™ allows you to easily access and browse journals available online via UniSA. Access via Catalogue > Journals

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad™ is a Google Chrome Extension that makes it easy to access journal articles anywhere on the internet. 

 

undefined

For instructions on how to install BrowZine and LibKey, visit Library News

My Bookshelf is the place where you can organise your favorite journals and stay up to date in your field!  You may rename and organise your "shelves" and "bookcases" however you'd like! This configuration will automatically sync to your other devices when you use the same login.

See the video below to learn how to add a journal to My bookshelf (11 mins)

undefined

  • What is the BrowZine Account?

The BrowZine Account is the system used to provide personalization features throughout the BrowZine ecosystem.  Having a BrowZine Account is required for using My Bookshelf on all devices as it is used to tie together your different devices so you only need to configure My Bookshelf on one device and the configuration will sync seamlessly between them.

  • What email can I use to create my BrowZine Account?  Does it matter?

In most cases, you can use any email you would like!  For libraries using the BrowZine Pairing Service, you may be restricted to using only your university/company email address.  BrowZine will alert you to this fact if you try to use another email at one of these accounts automatically.

  • Do I have to have an account?  Can I use BrowZine at all without one?

No, you do not have to have an account to use BrowZine.  You can still browse the shelves, look up titles, read tables of contents, and download articles.  However, in order to use the personalization feature of My Bookshelf and My Articles, a BrowZine account is required so that we can synchronize and back-up your data across all devices and ensure that we keep your device accurately updated.

  • What if you can't find a journal in BrowZine?
    • ​You can try searching the name of the journal in the Library catalogue, e.g. Journal of advanced nursing.
    • For table of contents of the journal, search the web by journal title. Most publishers offer email alerts for the table of contents of the latest issue's.
    • Contact Interlibrary Loans and Document Delivery Service (Eligibility applied).
    • Remember there maybe free Open Access versions of journal articles - use the Unpaywall Chrome/Firefox extension to find them (about Unpaywall)