Midwifery: NURS 2038: Complex care of neonate

Assignment Help

NURS 2038: Complex care of the neonate

This assignment help is designed to assist you with your assessment two preparing an annotated bibliography on a research topic.      

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Find out more - from Study Help

Understand your task

Begin by clarifying the assessment requirements. Read the assignment instructions and marking criteria supplied on your course site. The video below explains more about writing assignments at uni.

If you need to develop a research topic/question, visit the Formulate a Question tab on this guide to learn how.

  • Doing an assignment isn't a linear process.
  • Start by reading the task in detail, so you know what you need to do.
  • The assignment instructions and feedback sheet will explain the structure of your assignment.
  • You can find out more about different assignment types on the Study Help website.
  • You might need to revise your assignment plan as you go - this might happen a few times before you write your final draft!
  • As you read more, your argument should evolve to incorporate new information.
  • Make sure you use reliable resources to support your argument.
  • To interpret your task you will need to identify the content words and phrases - these show what you have to focus on.
  • The instruction words tell you how to approach the content, for example, describing something is different to comparing.
  • Identify the limits of your assignment by looking at keywords, word limits and other instructions.
  • Start the process early to get ahead.

Plan your search

  • Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
  • Mapping out your search is a good place to start
  • Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
  • You don't need to search for task words
  • Use double quotation marks (" ") to search for two or more words together as a phrase
  • Think about what other words (synonyms and alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
  • You can use acronyms, but you should search for the full terms as well
  • To find fewer results, add different concepts using AND (e.g. rural AND Australia)
  • To find more results, add synonyms or alternative terms, to your search using OR (e.g. "renewable energy" OR solar OR wind)
  • You can change your search as you find more information
  • For more information, read the How to plan your search document

Search Strategy

Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Then consider alternative words for each.

Break down the question

As your topic might have multiple questions, you should perform a search for each sub-question. Use the common concepts plus one or more question-specific concepts.

For the example of 'What are best practice safety and security procedures for trauma-informed care in a newborn intensive care unit?' identify the concepts common to the main question.

Key concepts
Alternative concepts

newborn intensive care unit

NICU, paediatric intensive care unit, pediatric intensive care unit 

safe

secure, careful, rigorous

trauma informed

trauma-informed, trauma sensitive, trauma compassionate

Now use AND and OR to combine your keywords

Line 1 newborn intensive care unit OR NICU OR paediatric intensive care unit OR pediatric intensive care unit
 
Connector AND
Line 2

safe OR secure OR careful OR rigorous

Connector AND
Line 3 trauma informed OR trauma-informed OR trauma sensitive OR trauma compassionate 

Finally, add truncation and phrase symbols This will help you save time and get relevant results.

For example

  • truncation can help find plural word forms, pregnan* will find pregnant and pregnancy and pregnancies 
  • use quotation marks to keep phrases together, for example "patient satisfaction" OR "consumer satisfaction"

With truncation/phrases 

Line 1 "newborn intensive care unit" OR NICU OR "paediatric intensive care unit" OR "pediatric intensive care unit"
Connector AND
Line 2

safe* OR secur* OR careful* OR rigorous

Connector AND
Line 3 "trauma informed" OR "trauma-informed" OR "trauma sensitive" OR "trauma compassionate" 

Search the Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating quality information.

Use the Library Catalogue to find:

  • books or ebooks
  • journals or journal articles
  • conference papers and newspaper articles

Learn to use the Library catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial below.

Find journal articles

Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication and account for a large percentage of university research output. Journals contain collections of articles and are generally published on a regular basis.

For further information about journal articles and a list of key databases to help with your research:

Databases

Emcare
Searching in Emcare is different to searching in the Library Catalogue.

1. Type your first concept and alternative words into the search box.
2. Untick the box labeled Map to Subject Heading.

3. Select Search.
4. Repeat steps 1-3 for your next concepts.
5. Tick the boxes next to each of your concept lines.
6. Select Combine with AND.

7. Scroll down to see your results.

 

Use this tutorial to learn how to search the Emcare database

More useful databases:

Select appropriate references

You should critically evaluate all resources found to determine their appropriateness for your assignment. The video below explains more.

  • Having access to a lot of information can be overwhelming.
  • Evaluating information helps you decide what resources you should use.
  • One technique you can use is the CRAAP test.
  • Currency: How recent is the information? Does it suit your needs?
  • Relevance: Is the information relevant to your assignment?
  • Authority: Who wrote the information? Are they an expert?
  • Accuracy: Is the information accurate? Is it supported by evidence?
  • Purpose: Why was the resource created? Is there any bias?
  • You can use the CRAAP tool to think about these issues when evaluate your resources.

Write your assignment (annotated bibliography)

You also need to understand the requirements of your assignment.
 The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types. Have a look at:

Correctly reference your sources

Referencing roadmap banner. Navigate to the referencing roadmap resource.

You must appropriately cite (‘acknowledge’) all references used in your assignment to avoid plagiarism.

Try: Learn to Reference - Part 1 interactive tutorial
Try: Learn to Reference - Part 2 interactive tutorial

 

If you need help, just ask!

Navigate to the Ask the Library webpage. Navigate to the UniSA study help pals webpage. Navigate to the Studiosity webpage. Navigate to the Learning Advisors' webpage.
Contact: Ask the Library Ask: the Study Help PALs Use: Studiosity Talk to: Learning Adviser