Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication and account for a large percentage of university research output. They:
Journals contain collections of articles and are generally published on a regular basis (e.g. issues are released monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly etc.). They can be found via Library databases.
Remember to evaluate! Just as with books, there are different types of of journals. Not all journals are suitable for your assignments.
Selected nursing journals
BrowZine™ allows you to easily access and browse journals available online via UniSA. Access via Catalogue > Journals
LibKey Nomad™ is a Google Chrome Extension that makes it easy to access journal articles anywhere on the internet.
|For instructions on how to install BrowZine and LibKey, visit Library News|
My Bookshelf is the place where you can organise your favorite journals and stay up to date in your field! You may rename and organise your "shelves" and "bookcases" however you'd like! This configuration will automatically sync to your other devices when you use the same login.
See the video below to learn how to add a journal to My bookshelf (11 mins)
The BrowZine Account is the system used to provide personalization features throughout the BrowZine ecosystem. Having a BrowZine Account is required for using My Bookshelf on all devices as it is used to tie together your different devices so you only need to configure My Bookshelf on one device and the configuration will sync seamlessly between them.
In most cases, you can use any email you would like! For libraries using the BrowZine Pairing Service, you may be restricted to using only your university/company email address. BrowZine will alert you to this fact if you try to use another email at one of these accounts automatically.
No, you do not have to have an account to use BrowZine. You can still browse the shelves, look up titles, read tables of contents, and download articles. However, in order to use the personalization feature of My Bookshelf and My Articles, a BrowZine account is required so that we can synchronize and back-up your data across all devices and ensure that we keep your device accurately updated.
Databases are search tools for finding articles, papers, reports, book chapters and more. Search by topic, author, or in a specific publication. Scholarly references are best found in databases.
Databases can be discipline specific (such as Emcare), or multidisciplinary (such as Scopus). Many contain full text material, or the reference and abstract only.
Emcare (via Ovid) Database includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health
Databases may look different but how you apply your search strategy to them is often very similar. This video shows you how to search the database Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) and Scopus.
Emcare (via Ovid) Database includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health.
Search Emcare tutorial:
[copyright owned by La Trobe University, public domain, CC BY, CC BY-NC]
Other videos in this series:
Shows how to apply your search in Scopus. [Low quality version of video available]