Library buildings can only be accessed via swipe card until 30th November 2020.
Please check current information about other Library services impacted by Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Nursing: HLTH 1037: Mental Health

HLTH: 1037: Mental Health

This assignment requires you to complete the following:

  • A 1000 word assignment
  • A 1500 word OSCA assessment 
  • A 2000 word case study analysis                                                         

This assignment help assumes you have read your course outline. For full assessment details, please refer to your course outline.

Writing a case study report for nursing

The following resources may also be useful:

Think about your topic

You’ll need a broad understanding of your topic before searching. Brainstorm what you already know and what you need to investigate.

Searching for background information can build your understanding of your assignment. Find this through the Library Catalogue or the web (see step 6).

 

Select the plus symbols below to learn more about background information.

A mind map can also be helpful in organising your thoughts at this point.

Plan your search

  • Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
  • Mapping out your search is a good place to start
  • Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
  • You don't need to search for task words
  • Use double quotation marks (" ") to search for two or more words together as a phrase
  • Think about what other words (synonyms and alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
  • You can use acronyms, but you should search for the full terms as well
  • To find fewer results, add different concepts using AND (e.g. rural AND Australia)
  • To find more results, add synonyms or alternative terms, to your search using OR (e.g. "renewable energy" OR solar OR wind)
  • You can change your search as you find more information
  • For more information, read the How to plan your search document

Search strategies

After watching the above video you can now start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Consider alternative words for these concepts which, together with the concept term, become your searchable keywords.

Question:
"What is the impact of mental illness from a client centred perspective?"

Keywords Concepts Synonyms and alternative concepts
Impact effect, influence, consequence, result
mental illness depressed, mental health, nervous breakdown, anxiety disorder, mentally ill, bipolar disorder
client centred client-centered, patient-focused, patient-centred, customer-centred, customer centred

Combine your search string

Line 1 effect* OR influence* OR consequence* OR result*
Connector AND
Line 2

depress* OR "mental health" OR "nervous breakdown" OR "anxiety disorder" OR "mental* ill*" OR "bipolar disorder*"

Connector AND
Line 3  "client-centred"  OR "patient-focus*" OR "patient centred" OR "customer-centred" OR "customer centered"

Essential reading

Mental health: A Person-centred Approach can be accessed via the Library Catalogue or purchased from online retailers.

Start your search

You can search for information using a range of tools, including the Library Catalogue and databases, Google Scholar, and internet search engines. Choose the sources that are best suited to your need.

Select the plus symbols below to learn more about different search options.

Basic search
This is the default option when searching in the Library Catalogue.

1. Add in one keyword for each concept, combining them with AND.
    Note: Searching for more general terms will find more results. 
2. Select Search.
3. Swap your keywords with your alterative terms to see different results.

Basic search containing the search strategy: ethics and health and refusal to treat

 

Advanced search
If you would like to do a more comprehensive search, use the Advanced search.

1. Put each concept on a new line
2. Add your alternative words, combining them with OR.
3. Select Search.

Advanced search strategy containing ethics or ethical on the first line, and health or health care professional or practitioner on the second line, and refusal to treat or refuse to treat or conscientious objection on the third line.


Filters

Use the filters on the left to limit and refine your results.
You could try limiting to:

Tick box Peer-reviewed journals
Tick box Full text online
Tick box Resource types
Tick box Publication date range

Medline
Searching in Medline is different to searching in the Library Catalogue.

1. Type your first concept and alternative words into the search box.
2. Untick the box labeled Map to Subject Heading.

Search box containing the search strategy: ethics or ethical or moral or morality.

3. Select Search.
4. Repeat steps 1-3 for your next concepts.
5. Tick the boxes next to each of your concept lines.
6. Select Combine with AND.
Medline search history showing each concept as its own search line. Selection boxes next to each line are ticked. Lines will be combined using the and button at the bottom of the search history.
7. Scroll down to see your results.
 

Scopus
You can do a basic or advanced search, just like in the Library Catalogue.

1. Type all your keywords for your first concept into the search box.
2. Select the plus symbol to the right to add a line for your next concept.
3. Add all your keywords for your second concept into the search bar.
4. Repeat steps 2-3 until you have used all your concepts.
5. Select Search.

Advanced search with search strategy: ethics or ethical or moral or morality on the first line, and health or health care professional or clinician on the second line, and refusal to treat or refuse to treat or refuse to provide care on the third line.


More useful databases:

Google Scholar
You can search Google Scholar in the same way as a Catalogue basic search.

  1. Access Google Scholar through the Library website
  2. Follow the instructions to link your session to UniSA
  3. Use the basic search box like the Library Catalogue
  4. Look for the PDF links or Fulltext at UniSA links to access the resource

Basic search containing search strategy: ethics and health and refusal to treat.

Relevant websites

To find relevant websites that are recommended for your area of study, have a look at the Find evidence: government and organisation information tab in this guide.

You could also visit the following resources:

 

Google 
You can use Google to search for information from professional bodies, governments, and non-government organisations. This might include reports, clinical guidelines, professional standards, codes of conduct, and more.

Google has a number of useful search features that can make your searching more efficient:

 

LibKey Nomad

If you are looking for information on the internet, it's worth downloading LibKey Nomad. It's a browser extension for Chrome that will look for full text PDFs of journal articles from websites outside of the Library Catalogue. This is helpful when looking on pages such as Wikipedia, because you can easily access and read the articles from the reference list. Instructions to download LibKey Nomad are available here.

Need more help?

​You may find the following information in the Nursing Subject Guide useful for your assignment: 

Select appropriate references

You should critically evaluate all resources found to determine their appropriateness for your assignment. The video below explains more.

  • Having access to a lot of information can be overwhelming.
  • Evaluating information helps you decide what resources you should use.
  • One technique you can use is the CRAAP test.
  • Currency: How recent is the information? Does it suit your needs?
  • Relevance: Is the information relevant to your assignment?
  • Authority: Who wrote the information? Are they an expert?
  • Accuracy: Is the information accurate? Is it supported by evidence?
  • Purpose: Why was the resource created? Is there any bias?
  • You can use the CRAAP tool to think about these issues when evaluate your resources.

Peer-reviewed journals

Articles from peer-reviewed journals are of high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer-reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used. 

Watch the following video to learn more about scholarly sources.

  • Often you will be asked to use scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed sources in your assignment.
  • Scholarly sources (also called academic sources) can include journal articles, books, conference papers, and theses.
  • Sources such as Wikipedia, newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, blogs, social media and personal websites are called popular sources.
  • A scholarly source:
    • is written by researchers within a subject area,
    • reports on research findings,
    • contains comprehensive in-text citations and a reference list or bibliography,
    • uses specialised terminology and a formal writing style, and
    • is often peer-reviewed or refereed.
  • A peer-reviewed or refereed journal article is assessed by experts within the field before it is published.
  • Peer-reviewed journal articles should include:
    • author details including affiliations with organisations,
    • an abstract which summarises the article,
    • evidence of research findings, and
    • in-text citations and a reference list.
  • When searching in the Library Catalogue or databases, you can filter for scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed resources.
  • Books can also be scholarly. A scholarly book:
    • is written by an expert,
    • is published by a reputable publisher,
    • has a table of contents,
    • provides in depth subject information,
    • includes an index of terms, and
    • has in-text citations and a reference list.

Correctly reference your sources

Referencing roadmap banner. Navigate to the referencing roadmap resource.

You must appropriately cite (‘acknowledge’) all references used in your assignment to avoid plagiarism.

Write your assignment

The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types. 

Have a look at:

If you need help, just ask!

Navigate to the Ask the Library webpage. Navigate to the UniSA study help pals webpage. Navigate to the Studiosity webpage. Navigate to the Learning Advisors' webpage.
Contact: Ask the Library Ask: the Study Help PALs Use: Studiosity Talk to: Learning Adviser