Nursing: NURS 5150 - Leadership and Management in Nursing & Health Contexts

Assessment 1 - Discussion Paper

In today's health care environment, health services managers have to be leaders.

 

This 2500 word discussion paper should be written in the format of an academic paper, supported by scholarly references. 

Please refer to the course outline for areas to address in your discussion paper and the learnonline course site for assessment instructions.

Understand the task

Begin by clarifying the assessment requirements. Read the assignment instructions and marking criteria supplied on your course site. The video below explains more about writing assignments at uni.

If you need to develop a research topic/question, visit the Formulate a Question tab on this guide to learn how.

  • Doing an assignment isn't a linear process.
  • Start by reading the task in detail, so you know what you need to do.
  • The assignment instructions and feedback sheet will explain the structure of your assignment.
  • You can find out more about different assignment types on the Study Help website.
  • You might need to revise your assignment plan as you go - this might happen a few times before you write your final draft!
  • As you read more, your argument should evolve to incorporate new information.
  • Make sure you use reliable resources to support your argument.
  • To interpret your task you will need to identify the content words and phrases - these show what you have to focus on.
  • The instruction words tell you how to approach the content, for example, describing something is different to comparing.
  • Identify the limits of your assignment by looking at keywords, word limits and other instructions.
  • Start the process early to get ahead.

Plan your search

Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. 

Then consider alternative words for these concepts which, together with the concept term, become your searchable keywords.

You may be able to simplify your search by using Truncation, Wildcards and Phrases.

Example assignment topic: Is it ethical for a doctor to refuse to treat a patient?

Question: Is it ethical for a health care professional to refuse to treat a patient?
Concepts: Health care professional,    refusal to treat,    ethics

Synonyms:

Concept 1
  • Health care professional
  • Healthcare provider
  • health practitioner
  • clinician
Concept 2
  • refusal to treat
  • refuse to treat
  • refusal to provide care
  • patient abandonment
 Concept 3
  • ethics
  • moral
  • morality

 Combined search string
healthcare professional OR healthcare provider OR health practitioner OR clinician
AND
refusal to treat OR refusal to provide care OR patient abandonment
AND
ethics OR moral OR morality

With truncation / phrases
health* professional? OR health* provider? OR health* practitioner? OR clinician?
AND
"refus* to treat" OR "refus* to provide care" OR "patient abandonment" or "abandon patient?"
AND
ethic* OR moral*

Find Journal Articles for your Assignment

 For this assignment you need to demonstrate "“Extensive use of scholarly literature to support discussion" (Marking Rubric.)

 

Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication and account for a large percentage of university research output.

Use these databases to search for locate relevant, credible journal articles to support your arguments within your assignment:

More help:

Database limits and filters

Journal articles are often found in databases.

Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many.  Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:

  • Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.

  • If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only – it won’t find any full-text. Using a full text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.

If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research. 

Select appropriate references

You should critically evaluate all resources found to determine their appropriateness for your assignment. The video below explains more.

  • Having access to a lot of information can be overwhelming.
  • Evaluating information helps you decide what resources you should use.
  • One technique you can use is the CRAAP test.
  • Currency: How recent is the information? Does it suit your needs?
  • Relevance: Is the information relevant to your assignment?
  • Authority: Who wrote the information? Are they an expert?
  • Accuracy: Is the information accurate? Is it supported by evidence?
  • Purpose: Why was the resource created? Is there any bias?
  • You can use the CRAAP tool to think about these issues when evaluate your resources.

Write your assignment

The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types. 

Have a look at:

Correctly reference your sources

Referencing roadmap banner. Navigate to the referencing roadmap resource.

You must appropriately cite (‘acknowledge’) all references used in your assignment to avoid plagiarism.

If you need help, just ask!

Navigate to the Ask the Library webpage. Navigate to the UniSA study help pals webpage. Navigate to the Studiosity webpage. Navigate to the Learning Advisors' webpage.
Contact: Ask the Library Ask: the Study Help PALs Use: Studiosity Talk to: Learning Adviser