The University Library remains open to staff and students. Check here for up to date information about Library services impacted by Coronavirus (COVID-19).
The Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website has a number of resources to help make sense of the assignment and instruction words.
The alternative words (synonyms) with your concepts become your searchable keywords.
Learn more about planning your search by watching this video:
To search effectively, it is important to first prepare a search strategy.
Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic, then consider alternative words for these concepts. Together, these will become your searchable keywords.
The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
Use the Library Catalogue:
Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author or Subject. All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.
Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial. Click on the image below to start:
Journals articles are often found in databases.
Useful databases to search
Emcare (via Ovid): includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health
Search Emcare Tutorial
Medline: The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health.
Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences.
Informit Health Collection for Australian information
ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)
Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many.
Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:
If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research.
Harvard UniSA referencing resources and guides
Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources.