Nursing: NURS 1044: Professional Practice N

Professional Practice N: NURS 1044

[Rawpixel, 'Woman person desktop work', CC Licence: CC0, Image source: Pixabay]

NURS 1044: Professional Practice Nursing

 This assessment requires you to complete two tasks:

  • Essay - Assignment 1 (750-word statement)
  • Essay - Assignment 2 (2000 words)

image of information icon This assignment help assumes you have
         read in detail your course outline. For full assessment details, please see
         your course outline.

Understand your topic

Before you can search for information or start writing your assignment, you need to have a broad understanding of your topic.

Consider:

 What do you know? Or need to explore further?

 Do you need to define any terms?

 What types of evidence do you need?

 Do any theories apply to your topic

Plan Your Search

Search Strategies

Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

Use the Library Catalogue:

  • to find a book or ebook by its title
  • to find a journal article by its title, or use a combination of article title and author
  • to find information in books, journals and other materials on a topic
  • Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author or Subject. All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.

Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial.                             Simply click on the image below to start. 

Databases

Journal articles are often found in databases.

Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many. Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:

  • Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.
  • If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only - it won't find any full-text. Using a full-text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.

If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research. 

Useful databases to search

  • Emcare (via Ovid)includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health

Search Emcare Tutorial 

  • Medline:  The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health. 

  • Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences. 

  • Informit Health Collection for Australian information

  • ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)

Study Help: Evaluating Information

Peer Reviewed Journals

Articles from Peer reviewed journals are of high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.

The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.

Watch the Scholarly sources explained video – it takes under 3 minutes and features an academic from the School of Health Sciences.

View the guide How to find scholarly sources for more information.

Watch the below video 'Peer Review in 3 Minutes' by NCSU Libraries. Published under a Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US license.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a free service for searching scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
 

Watch the following videos on how to conduct: 

You may also find it useful to complete the interactive tutorial on Learning to Search in Google Scholar.

Write your Assignment

You also need to understand the requirements of your assignment. The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called 
Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types.
Have a look at:

Referencing

Harvard UniSA referencing resources and guides

Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources.