Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.
Video Length: 2 minutes 14 seconds
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly material. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.
Using the "refine my results" menu, you can refine your search to find exactly what you need.
Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. You will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link. Search in Google Scholar directly from the Library homepage for best access to full-text references.
|Find Case Studies|
OR when searching databases or the collection for case studies, simply type 'case study' into the search bar.
|Find News Media|
The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases. Start your search with:
A huge range of statistical resources can be found via the Library collection and databases.
OR when searching databases or the collection for statistics, simply add the word 'statistics' into your search.
Access to a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:
OR When searching the library collection, use the Refine my Results menu to refine the Resource Type to Audio Visual
|Find Conference Papers|
Conference papers or proceedings are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings or professional or scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic because researchers often present their findings first at conferences.
To search for conference papers:
While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. You may be asked to use Scholarly or Peer Reviewed material to support your arguments.
You should evaluate all resources before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or Databases.