TOUR 3009: Destination Management
1. TOUR 3009: Destination Management
For your assignment questions and assessment information, please consult your course outline and learnonline site.
2. Plan your search
Before you begin your research you need to plan your search to get the best results. Watch the video below for help getting started: Watch the video 2 min 22 sec) below for help getting started:
3. Mindmap
A mindmap can aid your understanding and find important keywords for searching. Here is an example:
Take a look at an example Mind Map that the Student Engagement Unit (SEU) have created:
- Using mind maps to plan assignmentsPDF: 324 KB
4. Finding information
The Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
To learn more about searching in the Library Collection, complete the tutorial below.
- How to save time searching databasesLearn effective ways of database searching
PDF: 301 KB
A credible reference can also be known as a scholarly source or peer reviewed (refereed) article. Watch the video (2 min 22 sec) below to learn about scholarly sources.
- How to find scholarly sourcesRead this article to learn about scholarly sources. (PDF: 272 KB)
5. Write your assignment
You also need to understand the requirements of your assignment. The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types.
Have a look at:
- Study help: Assignment writingA collection of resources and videos about writing assignments.
- Study Help: Evaluating InformationWatch this video (3 min 17 sec) to evaluate the information you have researched.
- Library helpHelp locate specific types of information.
- Study Help: Understanding CopyrightVideo (2 min 52 sec)
6. Assignment 1: How to write an essay
Watch this video (2 min 53 sec) for an overview on essay writing.
- Study Help: EssaysThis Study Help page offers an overview and several examples of essay writing which may help you in preparing and writing essays.
7. Assignment 2: How to write a report
Watch this short video (2 min 54 sec) for tips on how to write a report.
8. Referencing Support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise, and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. EndNote automates citing your references and allows you to create and organise a library of references. For more information and to download the software, check out the EndNote Guide: