AERO 1017: Human Factors 1 - Assessment 2
| This guide will help you find information for your essay. |
|
Before you begin read the:
|
Plan your search
 Watch this video |
Before you get started it is important to plan your search.
-
Study Help : Plan your SearchUniSA Library video (2 min 26 sec.)
For this assignment you have to address one of the topics given. This guide will use the following example topic:
Discuss what factors makes cabin crew work effectively as a team.
 Apply the skills shown here to your own topic |
1. Identify the content words, main concepts in your topic:
| Concept 1 | cabin crew |
| Concept 2 | effectively as a team |
2. Identify any synonyms or similar keywords for alternative concepts. You may find it helpful to put these in a table.
| Concept 1 | cabin crew, flight attendants |
| Concept 2 |
effectively as a team, effective team, effective teamwork, team effectiveness, successful teamwork, successful teams, team performance |
Consider any:
- Plurals or different word endings: flight attendant, flight attendants, trust, trusting
- Different word spelling: aeroplane, airplane, behaviour, behavior
Combining concepts
Once you have identified your key concepts, you need to combine them using AND & OR.
1. OR is used to connect synonyms or alternative concepts to broaden your search:
| Concept 1 | cabin crew OR flight attendants |
| Concept 2 |
effective team OR effective teamwork OR team effectiveness OR successful teamwork OR successful teams |
2. AND is used to connect different concepts. The more concepts you add using AND the narrower your search will become:
| Concept 1 | "cabin crew" OR "flight attendant" |
| AND | |
| Concept 2 | effective* OR success* OR performance |
| AND | |
| Concept 3 | team* |
3. You can also use:
- Quotation marks " " to keep words together to search for a phrase.
- Asterisk * to search for word variations, e.g. team* will find teams, teamwork etc.
 Read: How to plan your search |
-
How to plan your searchThis resource explains how to combine and connect search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
Start your search
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly material. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.
|
Type your concepts into the search box: 
|
|
You can change the concepts used to find different results:  |
|
Apply filters using the left hand menu to refine your results further. |
You can search Google Scholar in a similar way to find relevant information.
-
Search Google ScholarTab next to Library Collection
 Watch: How to search the Library Collection (1.47) |
More searching options
| Databases |
Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.
|
Start by typing each different concept into a new search field. Connect these using AND. Choose to search Anywhere except full text. 
Tips:
|
| Refine your results by using the menu on the left of the page. |
| Read: How to save time searching in databases |
-
How To Save Time Searching DatabasesDifferent databases use a range of truncation and wildcard symbols and phrase searching features. This guide explains the symbols used by each database to enable you to search them effectively
| More databases |
What is a scholarly source?
If you are not sure what is considered scholarly information watch this short video, or see the PDF:
-
Study Help: Scholarly Sources ExplainedLearn why scholarly sources are important to use and how you can identify them.
Video Length: 2:22
Referencing
For this assignment you need to use the American Psychological Association (APA) referencing style. Information about this style can be found here:
-
Massey University APA referencing toolAPA Interactive creates customised examples of APA references and in-text citations.
-
APA StyleAcademic Writer, formerly known as APA Style CENTRAL®, is APA's complete digital environment for teaching and conducting the process of scholarly writing.
-
Referencing webpageInformation around referencing rules, referencing styles and Academic Integrity.
More help
| Study Help |
An online hub complete with resources on assignment writing, referencing, study skills, maths help and more.
Feedback
|
For more help with this assignment please contact Ask the Library or the Student Engagement Unit.
|
