Marketing: MARK 3013: Marketing Practicum

1. Marketing Practicum

For a detailed description of your assignment question, please consult your course outline. 

2. Getting Started

Before you start searching for information think about:

  1. Is the company publicly listed or private?
  2. Is the company Australian or international?
  3. What industry does the company belong to?
  4. What information do you need about the company or industry? Annual reports, financial data, industry profiles, market research, or news media?

Public versus private companies: 
Public companies are listed and traded on a stock exchange whereas private companies are not listed. Also, public companies must provide annual reports to the public which makes them easier to research.

Not sure if it is public or private? 

  • Do a web search for your company's website. They often provide information about themselves under a section such as 'About us'.
  • Search for the company on the Australian stock exchange.

3. How to construct a marketing plan

For your assignment you will be required to complete a marketing plan. Take a look at the following links on the Australian Government website to get you started. 

4. Keywords

WHAT do I want to find out? What are the main concepts and keywords?

To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.

What you need to consider:

  • What do I want to find out?
  • What keywords/phrases can I use to help me find information?
  • Always check your course outline as it details the requirements for each assignment plus assignment details and marking criteria.

For more help with keywords, watch this short (2 mins) video.

Here are some keywords you might like to consider:
  • marketing plan, marketing strategy
  • market analysis, market segmentation, marketing management, marketing research
  • customer analysis, customer profile, consumer behavior, consumers' preferences, consumer satisfaction
  • brands, branding, brand name products, product management
  • competition, competitor analysis
  • product launch, product introduction
  • advertising, promotion
  • marketing mix, 4 P's, product, price, place, promotion
  • Porter's 5 forces
  • PESTLE analysis, PEST analysis, political, economic, social, technological, legal, environmental
  • SWOT analysis, strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use, there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. Can you think of any others?

Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.

Have a look at this guide, which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.

Loading ...

5. Analysis and Recommendations

SWOT analysis is a model that analyzes an organization’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats to create the foundation of a marketing strategy.
Have a look at these sites for help with conducting a SWOT analysis:

A PESTLE (or PEST) analysis examines factors affecting the Political, Economic, Social, and Technological, Legal and Environmental landscape around your industry or company.

Try these sites for more information on conducting PESTLE analysis

The Porter's Five Forces model helps marketers to look at the ‘balance of power’ in a market between different types of organisations, and to analyse the attractiveness and potential profitability of an industry sector. It helps to review the strengths of a market position, based on five key forces.

For more help with Porter's Five Forces, have a look at these sites:

SMART is an acronym for the 5 steps of setting specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-based goals.

Take a look at these sites: 

Loading ...

6. Company and Industry Information

Need help finding company or industry information?

Our Company and Industry Information guide can help you search the web, our databases and the Library Catalogue for:

  • company/industry information
  • financial information
  • annual reports
  • legislation and regulation
  • media coverage

7. Finding Resources using the Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

Use the Library Catalogue:

  • to find a book or ebook by its title
  • to find a journal article by its title, or use a combination of article title and author
  • to find information in books, journals and other materials on a topic
  • Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author or Subject. All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.

Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial.            Simply click on the image below to start                                                                                              

 

The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.

Watch the Scholarly sources explained video – it takes under 3 minutes and features an academic from the School of Health Sciences.

View the guide How to find scholarly sources for more information.

 

Loading ...

8. Finding Resources using Databases and Google Scholar

So many databases. HOW do you choose the right databases to search in to find information?

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only. You can access databases from the Library homepage. Choose the Databases link from the toolbar at the top of the homepage to see the full listing of database titles.

See the individual database tabs in this box for help with finding resources - these are the best databases for this assignment.

Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also an excellent source of company information including industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.

To search for company reports, select More then Company Profiles from the top menu bar.

Select company profiles from the drop down menu

You can then search for the company you are interested in. Both MarketLine and Medtrack reports are available from Business Source Complete.

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see our Company and Industry Information guide.

IBISWorld contains a profile of each of the top 2000 Australian companies, including information about operating and legal structures, financials, personnel, industries of involvement and service providers.

Many company types are included, including Public Listed and Non-Listed, Private, Foreign Owned, Partnerships, Trusts and Government Business Units.

It also contains detailed reports analysing selected Australian industry sectors. For each sector the report includes key statistics, market, industry segmentation, industry conditions & performance, industry participants, key factors, future trends.

Some international company and industry information is also available.

ou can browse available reports by using the tabs at the top of the screen:

You can also search for the company of industry you are interested in by using the search box:

Please note that you need to enter a unique username and password to access IBISWorld content - this is available from the Library's IBISWorld database access page.

For more help with searching IBISWorld, see our Company and Industry Information guide

Passport GMID is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

There are a number of ways you can search Passport GMID to find information.

If you are looking for statistics, you can use the Search Statistics search box. Choose an industry and industry category from drop-down menus and then select Go to find results matching your choices.

If you are looking for analysis, you can use the Find Analysis search box. Choose an industry and geographical location from drop-down menus and then select Go to find results matching your choices.
If you're interested in both statistics and analysis, you can search across the entire database by using the text search box in the top right hand side of the screen.
For more help with searching Passport GMID, watch this short video: Passport: Getting Started (3:41mins)
There are other databases you could search in to find information. These include:
Provides access to Australia's most in-depth business and analysis tool covering over 50,000 of Australia's leading private and public companies. The data includes income statements, balance sheets, cash flow statements and profitability ratios. Company360 provides access to financial information and analysis, competitor intelligence, company and  executive profiles and bio's and more.
Emerald: insight
An excellent source of management and business information. Subjects covered include management, HRM, and marketing and, as an added bonus, all content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.
Provides business information and sales intelligence on millions of companies worldwide, including sales leads, company reports, and company research. D&B Hoovers includes information on many Australian companies, so it's a good source of Australian data.
WARC 
WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) contains the full text of significant case studies, journal articles and research papers in the areas of advertising, marketing, branding, media and marketing research.

Google Scholar is a free service for searching scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. 

Watch the following videos on how to conduct: 

You may also find it useful to complete the interactive tutorial on Learning to Search in Google Scholar.

Loading ...

9. Finding Industry Statistics

Governmental sites are an excellent source of industry statistics. Try these sites to help you to find the statistics you need:

10. Referencing

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References or have a look at the Managing References guide to decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

Loading ...