Nutrition and Food Science: UniSA Online - HLTH 2035 - UO Human Nutrition - Assignment help

UniSA Online: Human Nutrition

Use this Assignment help to assist you with finding scientific evidence and popular press for Assessment 1.


Remember to read all the information on your course website related to your assessment to understand exactly what you need to do.

For this assignment help we will be looking at: Does a paleo diet reduce the risk of developing cardiovascular disease?

Plan before you search

Example topic: Does a paleo diet reduce the risk of developing cardiovascular disease?

Before you start searching for information: 

  • Identify the main ideas (key concepts) in the statement.
  • Think about how these concepts may be represented in the literature. For example, are there any synonyms (similar terms) you can think of?
     
Key concept Synonyms and alternative concepts

Paleo diet

Caveman diet/s, Hunter-gatherer diet/s, Paleo diets, Paleolithic diet/s,  Palaeolithic diet/s, Stone age diet/s....

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]TIP: You may want to search more broadly on macronutrient deficiencies that may result from the diet. If so add these to your list.

Cardiovascular

disease

Cardiovascular diseases, CVD, Heart disease/s, Vascular disease/s...

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]TIP: You may want to try searching on the relevant body part or system, for example heart, cardiovascular, blood vessel/s...    

We recommend you watch the following video:

Example topic: Does a paleo diet reduce the risk of developing cardiovascular disease?

Use the following steps to plan your search:

  1. Define terms you are unsure of.
     
  2. Identify the main concepts in your research question. This will form the foundation of your search.
    • Concept 1: Paleo diet
    • Concept 2: Cardiovascular disease
       
  3. Identify any synonyms or related keywords for each main concept. Consider any:
    • word plurals - disease or diseases
    • different word forms - paleo or palaeolithic
    • different word spellings - palaelolithic or paleolithic
    • common acronyms CVD or cardiovascular disease

      For example
  • Concept 1: Paleo diet - Paleolithic diet, Caveman diet/s, Hunter-gatherer diet/s, Stone age diet/s...
  • Concept 2: Cardiovascular disease -  CVD, Heart disease/s, Vascular disease/s, heart, cardiovascular, blood vessels...

We recommend you watch the following short video:

Once you think about your main concepts and any synonyms (similar terms) you can combine these to create different search strategies.

Use the connectors AND and OR to create your search strategies.

  •  AND connects each different concept.
  • OR connects your synonyms (similar terms).


For example:

Paleo diet OR Paleolithic diet OR Caveman diet OR Hunter gatherer diet OR Stone age diet


AND

Cardiovascular disease OR CVD OR heart disease OR Vascular disease OR heart

We recommend you look at this guide for more help:
Loading ...

Finding scientific evidence

For this assignment you will need to use library databases to find scientific evidence. Library databases are search tools that help you locate scientific evidence.

Some key database starters include:

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Tip - If you cannot find relevant information try searching other databases like Scopus.

 

More help:

In Medline you will need to search each different concept one at a time.

Important: Untick Map term to Subject Heading as we just want to do a keyword search.


Start by typing your first concept into the search box. Use OR to connect your synonyms (similar terms). Select Search.


 

Now enter your second concept into the search box. Use OR to search for any synonyms (similar concepts). Select Search.


 

Once you have searched for all your different concepts, select each concept by ticking the box next to it. Connect them using AND.

 

Limiting your search: In Medline and Emcare you can refine your search by selecting More Limits and choosing systematic reviews, or meta-analysis.

Tip: It is possible to run this search using other databases available on Ovid such as Emcare (see the Emcare tab for more help).

You can search Emcare exactly the same way you search Medline.

However, if you have already run a search in Medline you can easily re-run it in Emcare.

Once you have run your search in Medline, select Change listed above the search box.


 

Select Ovid Emcare from the list and click on Run Search.


 

Use Emcare tutorial for more help.

In this assessment, you need to find scientific evidence including a systematic review if one exists. This means articles that are peer reviewed and contain original (empirical) research.

Research articles Contain original (empirical) research; therefore, they are considered primary sources of information.
Review articles

Review articles analyse and discuss previously published research articles. Therefore, information within them are considered to be highly credible and accurate.

Review articles can include literature reviews, scoping reviews or systematic reviews / meta-analysis. They are considered secondary sources of information.

TIP: You can find systematic reviews and meta-analysis by searching Medline, Emcare, Scopus and The Cochrane Library.

Watch this short video on scholarly sources:

Alternatively, have a look at this short guide:

Loading ...

Finding popular press articles

Use the Library's News media guide  to identify useful databases to search for popular articles.

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Tip: Remember to assess the information that you locate in order to avoid using "fake news" in your assignment.

Some key news databases include:

NewsBank is a good place to start searching for popular press articles. 

In the NewsBank database select either Access World News or Australia's Newspapers.

Use the drop down menu to choose All Text.

Type your keywords into the search box. Use OR to connect any synonyms (similar terms). Select Search.

You can search in Google to locate popular press articles, blogs and websites. 

In Google its best to search broadly and know that you will get a lot of results and browse them. 

Example Google search:

 

Tip: Select News and you will only be searching blogs and news articles

 

 

Loading ...

More help