Management: Find information

Where to Search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.  The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

 Video Length: 2 minutes 14 seconds

  • Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.
  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Catalogue:
    • is a good place to search for scholarly material.
    • provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases:
    • help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar:
    • provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly. 
    • use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them.

The Library Catalogue

Search the Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue is a good place to start your search for scholarly material. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.

Using the "tweak your results" menu, you can refine your search to find exactly what you need.

Want to Know More?

Watch this short video about using the Library Catalogue  (1:48)
Practise using the library catalogue with our Interactive Tutorial  (15 min.)

Key Databases

Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.

  Management Databases

Want to Know More?

Read: How to Save Time Searching Databases (PDF)
Watch Using the Harvard Business Review   (2:05)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Want to Know More?

Visit the library's Beyond Google for your Research Guide for videos and tips.
Practise using Google Scholar with our Interactive Tutorial (10 min.)

Libkey Nomad

undefinedLibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad™ is a Google Chrome, MS Edge, Brave and Vivaldi browser extension that makes it easy to access journal articles anywhere on the internet.

With the Nomad extension activated in Chrome you can access direct links to relevant articles and PDFs on websites such as PubMed, publisher websites, and Wikipedia, with the following icon:undefined

For instructions on how to set up LibKey Nomad™, visit the Library Home Page > About the Library > News.

Find More Information

    Find Company and Industry information

Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.

This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.

   Find Case Studies

OR when searching databases or the catalogue for case studies, simply type 'case study' into the search bar.  

   Find News Media

The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases.  Start your search with:

   Find Statistics

A huge range of statistical resources can be found on the library's Company and Industry Guide, or try the following key databases:

 Find Videos

Access to a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:

Select Appropriate References

While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment.  You may be asked to use Scholarly or Peer Reviewed material to support your arguments. 

You should evaluate all resources  before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Catalogue or Databases.