Management: BUSS 2054: Principles of Logistics & Supply Chain Management - Assignment 2 - SP5 2018

Assessment

Assessment 2:  Report

Your task is to address the following questions for a Hospital/ healthcare supply chain. Read the given information from Nursing Hospital and Healthcare Supply Into a New Age and other sources, which are available from your Learnonline course site, or any other relevant information for this situation. Critically review the information and answer the following four (4) questions in the discussion section.

The questions to be addressed in your discussion section are:

  1. Describe the challenges of Healthcare logistics and supply chain,
  2. Describe and discuss the roles of logistics management in supply chain and operations management for healthcare logistics
  3. Discuss the essential trade-offs in meeting the performance goals while minimising total costs in healthcare logistics,
  4. Explain and discuss the role of logistics management or logisticians in healthcare logistics and supply chain in providing value to stakeholders.

Then provide recommendations on how these challenges faced by the healthcare organisations can be resolved.

Tip: Please consult your course outline for full assessment details

Textbook and supplementary reading

Textbook

Supplementary reading

Plan your search

Use this page to help you with your report.

To be successful make sure you:

Gather information on the issue.

Analyse and intepret that information.

 Organise your analysis into key findings or observations.

Recommend actions that address your findings or discuss their implications.

Tips:
  • Create a mindmap or table when brainstorming relevant concepts.
  • Remember you do not have to search on each main concept.

Watch this short video to learn more:

Using a table to breakdown your question and brainstorm alternative concepts can be useful.

Tip: This table is not a comprehensive list.

Main concepts

Concept 1

logistics management       

Concept 2

supply chain management

Concept 3

medical

Concept 4

performance

Synonyms (similar concepts)

logistician

logistic*

"logistics management system"

"supply chain"

operations

"operations management"

"supply chain network design"

"real-time supply chain"

hospital

pharmaceutical

"medical logistics"

healthcare

"performance goals

"trade-off"

challenges

 

You will need to use AND and OR to connect your concepts together to form a search.

Use the connector AND to your different concepts.

For example: "medical logistics" AND challenges AND "supply chain"

The more concepts you connect with AND the narrower (more focused) your search will become.

Remember you do not have to search on all your different concepts

Use the connector OR to connect your similar concepts (synonyms).

For example: medical OR pharmaceutical OR "medical logistics" OR healthcare

Using OR will help broaden (expand) your search to include relevant results that use different terminology.

Read the assignment question and description and then follow these steps:

  1. Define any terms you are unsure of. Use an introductory book, dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook or website.
     
  2. Identify main concepts in your question / assignment. These will form the foundation of your search.
    • Concept 1: logistics management
    • Concept 2: supply chain management
    • Concept 3: medical
    • Concept 4: performance
       
  3. Identify any synonyms or similar keywords for each main concept.
    • Concept 1: "logistics management", logistician, "logistics management system"...
    • Concept 2: "supply chain management", "supply chain", operations, "operations management"...
    • Concept 3: medical, hospital, pharmaceutical, "medical logistics", healthcare...
    • Concept 4: performance, "performance goals", "trade-off", challenges...
       
  4. Consider any:
    • word plurals e.g. challenge, challenges
    • different word forms e.g. operations, operational
    • different word spellings e.g. organise, organize
    • common acronyms e.g. SCM supply chain management, 3PL third-party logistics provider

Loading ...

Searching

For this assessment you will need to use scholarly literature.

Scholarly or academic is an umbrella term for several different kinds of authoritative and credible sources including peer reviewed articles and some books.

Watch this short video to learn more:

Tip: Other resources we recommend are:

Search the Library Catalogue to find relevant books and other resources in the collection. Search by title, subject, or author, and remember to put phrases in "quotation marks".

Search the Library Catalogue

On the left hand side of the catalogue, there are options to refine your search. You can choose to refine your result to full text online, or peer reviewed, or enter a date range to find recent information. You can also refine by format to find particular resource types.

  • To find books, choose Refine Search > Format > Books
  • To find journal articles, choose Refine Search > Format > Articles

Navigate to Business Source Complete

  1. Ensure the advance search is selected
  2. Add a different concept (keyword) in each new line using the connector AND.
  3. You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.
    image of limited search function

Tips: 

emerald insight banner

  1. Using the Advanced Search option (below search box).
  2. Type your keywords into the advanced search box.
  3. All articles indexed in Emerald are peer-reviewed, so you do not need to limit your search results to retrieve them. However, you can limit your results by date, if you would like to.
    Limit your search by date

Tips: 

science direct logo banner

Don't be fooled by the name - Science Direct is an excellent source of information on business and management. And, as an added bonus, all articles are peer-reviewed!

  1. Select Advance search.
  2. Type your search terms into the advanced search box to locate information.

Tip: Use our Connect and combine search terms cheat sheet for more help.

Navigate to Google Scholar

You can also try searching Google Scholar.
Remember to access it through the Library Homepage to see UniSA full text.

Here is an example of a search using in Google Scholar:

uni SA google scholar

Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.

Image of google scholar search result

Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you should be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.

If you wish to use advanced search,click the menu bar (top left), and select Advance Search.

Loading ...

Industry websites

It is recommended you also search industry associations for information. Check these out:

 Supply Chain & Logistics Association of Australia (SCLAA) - is Australia’s largest Association for Supply Chain and Logistics professionals and practitioners working in SME’s through to large Corporates.

 Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals - leads the supply chain profession by connecting, developing, and educating the world’s logistics and supply chain management professionals throughout their careers.

 APICS - the leading provider of research, education and certification programs that elevate supply chain excellence, innovation and resilience.

 CIPSA - The world’s largest professional body serving procurement and supply; a not-for-profit organisation that exists for the public good.

Referencing

For this assessment you will need to reference using the Harvard-UniSA style.

If you need help use the:

Navigate to Referencing Roadmap

EndNote Data Folder and LibraryUsing EndNote software for referencing

EndNote is a bibliographic management software which can help you organise your references and add them into a Word document so your reference list is automatically created. It can save you time.

Tip: To find out more:

 Tips from UniSA Library on how you can manage your references using bibliographic management software.

More help

Click on the images above to access resources from the Study Help pages.

 If you need more help, try: