Management: COMM 2072: Communication and Organisational Practices

1. COMM 2072: Communication and Organisational Practices

This page was created to help you find information and write a reflection for assignments 1 & 2. Refer to your course outline for assessment details.

2. Assignment 1: choose your group

Choose an organisation or group to which you belong. Ideally this will be in a workplace setting. If you do not have any work experience, choose another organisational setting: 

3. Assignment 1 & 2: finding extra resources

In addition to referring to the Readings for both topics in both assignments, you need to find academic sources to support your analysis.

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

To do a search, try using

  • double quotes for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date eg 2010 to 2019
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
  • See Library Catalogue Help for additional searching tips.

Business Source Complete provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Complete.

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

Google Scholar Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.




By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Loading ...

4. Assignment 1: reflective writing

This video and resources below it may assist you to understand what is required for reflective writing. 

5. Assignment 2: choose your communication exchange

For assignment 2, you'll firstly need to choose an example of a "communication exchange": 

            

6. Assignment 2: write a report

Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together.

Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report or access the overview document at the bottom of this box.

image of an information icon For more help on improving your academic skills and referencing, please visit Study Help page.

Referencing and academic skills

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References or have a look at the Managing References guide to decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

Loading ...