Management: BUSS 5114: People, Leadership and Performance

1. BUSS 5114 - People, Leadership and Performance - Assessment 1,2 & 3

This page was created to help you research for and write your discussion paper.

Refer to your course outline for assessment details.

2. Assessment 1, 2 & 3

To begin your assessment, map out your question.
  • Identify the key concepts in the assignment question and any synonyms you could use
  • Remove task words from your assignment question eg. how, describe, analyse
  • Use the course readings or reliable websites to understand your topic
  • Think about what types of information you need - which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
  • Explore relevant theories that might apply to your topic
  • Check the assignment requirements - do you need to use recent information?

3. Assignment 1, 2 & 3: finding extra resources

In addition to referring to the Readings, you may want to find academic sources to include in your assessments.

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

To do a search, try using

  • double quotes for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date eg 2010 to 2019
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
  • Watch How to search the Library Catalogue for additional searching tips.

Business Source Complete provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Complete.

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

Google Scholar Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.




By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

4. Assessment 1

Requirements for Writing Take Away Applications (TAAPS)

In your TAAP assignments, you are required to explain how TWO concepts from each topic can be applied to your current/future profession/work. It is important that your explanation clearly describes the concepts and that you specifically and practically express how you would apply the concepts in your own profession/work.

Please view the Course Outline for more specific details regarding the TAAPs assignments.

5. Assessment 2

Here are some helpful resources to help you with writing your case analysis.

The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types.

 Remember when writing your case analysis to:

  • Define the Problem
  • Identify Important Causes Using OB Concepts
  • Recommend and justify a specific solution

Please read this document on case studies to get started on your case analysis.

Assessment 3

Group report

Watch the below video about report writing, and check out these resources about successfully working in a group:

 

Tips for oral presentations

Have a look at these useful resources from the Student Engagement Unit as you prepare for your oral presentation:

 Oral presentations: face-to-face & online

 Oral presentations: Planning a group presentation 

 Oral presentations: useful language 

 

7. Referencing Support

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Help with the Harvard UniSA referencing style. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing hub
    Information around what is referencing, paraphrasing, referencing rules, referencing styles and Academic Integrity. Also includes a link to the Harvard Referencing Guide UniSA (pdf).
     
  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.