Pharmacy: PHAR 1005: Pharmaceutical Industry

Assignment 2 - Group Project & Presentation

This Assignment Help is designed to help you with your research activities for the Group Project and Presentation.

For this assignment, you are required to:

1.  Develop a Dossier (Written Report) on a particular Drug and a Pharmaceutical Company associated with that product.  Your dossier should include:

  • Product Information
  • Marketing SWOT
  • Intellectual  property & patents

2.  Present the dossier and give a 4 minute Oral Presentation per person on the company and the product

Please refer to the learnonline course site for further assessment instructions

Plan your Search

Search Strategies

After watching the above video you can now start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Consider alternative words for these concepts which, together with the concept term, become your searchable keywords.

Keywords

Concepts

Synonyms and alternative concepts
Aspirin

salicylic acid, acetylsalicylic acid

Side-effects, 

reaction, aftereffect, adverse effects, contraindications

Pharmaceutical Industry   

pharmaceutical company, pharmaceutical solutions, pharmaceutical chemist, drug company

Combined Search String with AND / OR/ truncation*/phrase ("word + word")

Search 1

Line 1 aspirin OR "salicylic acid" OR "acetylsalicylic acid"
Connector AND
Line 2 "side effectsOR react* OR aftereffect OR "adverse effects" OR contraindicat*

Search 2

Line 1 aspirin OR "salicylic acid" OR "acetylsalicylic acid"
Connector AND
Line 2 "pharmaceutical industr*" OR "pharmaceutical compan*" OR "pharmaceutical solution*" OR "pharmaceutical chemist" OR "drug compan*"

Databases - Drug Information

The following Databases are a good starting point for finding information about your selected drugs.  For more options, look at the Find Evidence tab at the top of the guide.

Australian Public Assessment Reports for prescription medicines (AusPARs) Includes TGA approval notes. Browse by active ingredient or product name. May be the only source of information for your drug, especially if it is new.

Medicines Complete – Provides access to a large collection of drug information handbooks and other publications.

MIMS online (5 user licence) – Australia's medicine database which includes full medicines information, product images, consumer medicines information and The Australian Prescriptions Product Guide (APP Guide). 

SciFinder Includes a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information based on the CAplus, CASREACT, and Registry databases from the Chemical Abstracts Service. 

Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) " is part of the Australian Government Department of Health, and is responsible for regulating therapeutic goods including prescription medicines, vaccines, sunscreens, vitamins and minerals, medical devices, blood and blood products" - from TGA basics

Scopus - One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. 

Searching for drug information - SciFinder Database

SciFinder is a database that provides access to authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Have a look at the training resources below to learn how to search in SciFinder;

Media and other Information Sources

Information about pharmaceutical products and companies can sometimes be found in various media and other information sources.

Patents and Intellectual Property

Your assignment requires you to find information regarding intellectual property such as drug patents.  A patent is a legally enforceable protection on a product, composition or process. A patent allows a person or organisation the exclusive right to commercially exploit the invention for the life of the patent.

The Uni SA Library has a Patents and Standards Guide to help you further understand and research patents, and to guide you in finding patents on specific drugs.

Company and Industry Information

Select the above image to access the Company and Information Library Guide containing Company and Industry Information.

Databases - Business and Company Information

Business Source Complete is a database that allows you to find company profiles and reports, and market analysis reports from Medtrak or Marketline.

1.  From the "more" tab, select Company Profiles 

2.  Search for the company you are interested in, e.g. Bayer.

3.  Click on the PDF to see the full report. Sections include SWOT analysis (required for your assignment) and Business description.


4.  Now try searching the Company information tab. 

This searches the whole database and limits to relevant publication types – see the  box once you select the company name. You can use these options to reduce your search results to market research reports, SWOT analyses etc. 
 

Search Tip: Not getting any results?​

  • Check if the name of the company has changed at some point.
  • Search for both the full company name and abbreviations.
  • Try searching for the parent company (Except where specifically stated that the company is Australian)

Evaluate your References

Once you have identified potential articles, you need to start evaluating them to identify which articles are the most relevant and appropriate.

The following video provides information on how to evaluate your resources:

Write your Assignment

The length of the Dossier (Written Report) should be such that there will be a maximum of 2,000 words per student.  The Oral Presentation should be no more than 4 minutes per student.

The Sudent Engagement Unit has guides on how to write specific types of assignments: 

 View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills Website for help writing your assignment, or to make an appointment with SEU staff. 

Referencing

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

More help: