BUSS 5302: Managing the Global Workforce
1. Assessment details
There are 2 assessments that are broken up into 2 parts:
- Assessment 1: Part A - Group Facilitation & Part B - Group report
- Assessment 2: Continuous Assessments - Part 1 & 2
This page has been created to help you find information for your assignment. Before you get started make sure you have read the Course Outline and Learnonline site for the full assessment details.
2. Finding Industry information
Passport GMID
Passport GMID is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. To find industry information:
Search in Passport GMID
- On the Home Page, select Industries then your chosen industry (e.g. Food and Nutrition) on top of page.
- Scroll down to the Explore Analysis box.
- Select your company/brand's industry, choose Country Report for analysis, choose the product's category then choose the appropriate country from the drop down menu, and select Go.
- Your country report should automatically open.
- Using the menu at the top of the report, you can navigate through different information such as industry analysis, datagraphics and related industries.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides company reports for the top 2000 Australian companies as well as detailed Industry reports on Australian industries and selected US and Chinese Industries. Industry reports include information such as:
- SWOT analyses
- Major competitors
- Products and markets
- competitive landscape
Search in IBISWorld
To find industry reports type your industry within the main search box, e.g. chocolate, then select search.
- From the results page, you can filter your results by Country > Australia/US/Global, to show relevant results. You can also filter results by Report > Industry or Company.
You can also browse industries by selecting Industry research > Choose a country or global (e.g. US) > Select appropriate report.
For Australian Industry Reports, you can find Covid-19 Impact update and Risk Ratings Report.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate gives access to Company Profiles, Industry Reports, Country Reports, SWOT Analysis, and Market Research Reports. The database is USA focused but includes some Australian and international companies and industries as well.
To search for an industry profile, enter the name of the industry (e.g. chocolate) in the search box and click Search.
Search in Business Source Ultimate
On the left hand side under Refine Results, select Source Types, (click Show More to see full range of sources):
And in the pop-up box, select Industry Profiles then hit the Update button.
3. Company and Industry Guide
For more information on how to find Australian industry and company information have a look at our Company and industry information guide.
Tip: Also look at your Company's website to learn more about your company.
4. Group facilitation
As part of your assessment Part A, you will need to participate in group facilitation. The below resources provide an overview on what group facilitation is, and how to successfully perform group facilitation.
"What does a facilitator do?" (2 min 59 sec) In Meeting Facilitation.
Please log into LinkedIn Learning with your UniSA login details to access full series content.
- Learning Group Facilitation Guide (PDF: 1,651 KB)This guide provides a framework for organizing, structuring and leading group facilitation. Also included is a planning document and checklist
- Community Toolbox: Developing Facilitation SkillsLearn how to plan well, keep members involved, and create real leadership opportunities.
- Tips for Facilitation GroupsTen tips to enhance your effectiveness at facilitating groups
5. Plan your search
For your assignment you will need to search for academic references. Start planning your search by:
- Identifying the keywords in your topic
- Next think of alternate words for your key words to also use in your searching
Below are some examples of keywords:
Keywords |
Alternative words |
|---|---|
| Human Resource Management | IHRM, HRM, HR, human resources |
| International | global, worldwide |
| Recruitment | recruit, selection, hiring |
| Compensation | pay, payment, remuneration, salary |
For more search tips use the resources below:
- How to plan your search (PDF: 276 KB)This resource explains how to combine and connect search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
- Plan your search video (2 min 26 sec)Watch how to plan your search with this helpful video.
6. What are Academic / Scholarly / Peer-Reviewed sources?
Watch this short video (2 min 26 sec) to gain a better understanding of academic, scholarly, or peer-reviewed sources .
7. Journals
Your cited refereed journal articles MUST be sourced from one or more of the following shortlisted journals. You must use at least fifteen (15) academic scholarly references to support your arguments.
Some of the leading peer-reviewed IHRM journals are listed below:
Using Harvard Business Review
It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through the Business Source Ultimate database.
To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, then enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: Leave the first row as it is to keep the search within the Harvard Business Review journal.
8. Finding information
The Library collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references.
To do a search, try using
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect using AND, OR and NOT
At the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- Limit by Date eg 2019 to 2024
Search within a journal:
To search key terms in a specific journal in the Library Collection, you can add a Series (journals) search filter as in the example below :
- Once in the results list, select Advanced Search
- Add the journal name to the second search line (e.g. "Journal of Management")
- Change Any Field to Series / Additional title
You can also find relevant information about industry 4.0 and diversity of global workforce.
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database subject list, and select the > next to the Business and Management heading. For this course choose the Human resource management databases.
Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2019-2024.
Business Source Ultimate is a database which covers all things business and includes peer-reviewed journals.
You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the scholarly/peer reviewed option. You can also limit your search by date range.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Searching for your Literature Review Guide. Watch this video (2 min 13 sec) below to learn how to use Google Scholar effectively.
By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Fulltext at UniSA link.
9. Grey literature
Grey literature is:
'Information produced on all levels of government, academia, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing' - 1997 International Conference on Grey Literature, Luxembourg (definition expanded New York, 2004).
Why search for grey literature?
- introduces alternative perspectives
- minimises reporting bias
- can be essential in fast-changing research areas
- contains more local information
More information on grey literature
- Grey Literature and Other Sources GuideUniSA Library Guide.
Some key grey literature websites
10. Critical thinking & analysis
Critical thinking is an essential part of taking a scholarly approach to learning. It involves analysing and questioning information you receive to arrive at logical, well-reasoned conclusions.
The following resources will assist you in understanding and developing your critical thinking and analysing skills needed for your assignment.
- Critical thinking in writingDemonstrating critical thinking in your writing and more.
- Critical reviewsLearn how to critically review articles, websites and media.
- Critical thinking & analysing - Monash UniversityA helpful resource on critical thinking skills, mindsets and practices with examples.
- Critical thinking model - The University of LeedsA look at a model for critical thinking, evaluating and analysis.
11. Report writing
Now that your research is completed it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video (2 min 53 sec) for tips on how to write a report.
- Report overviewA helpful resource on how to write different types of reports and more.
12. Referencing
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.