Finding resources for Assessment 2
Assessment 2 consists of two connected parts:
The purpose of these two assignments is to develop your strategic awareness and capability in the design and delivery of HR systems and operations.
In your assignment you must consider the external environment which affects organisational policy. You can consider some external factors from the table below, using the STEEPLED analysis.
|Field||Some examples of key drivers for SHRM strategy|
|Socio-cultural||Social characteristics & geographical distribution, working population, cultural groups, education & training, religion, social values & beliefs|
|Technological||Information & communication technologies, biotechnology, medical advances, nanotechnology, robotics, technological change, research & development|
|Economic||Macro-economic policy, markets & prices, price levels, global trends, market structures, size of firms, profits, public spending, taxation, consumption & investment spending, wages & salaries, public services, imports & exports, exchange rates, balance of payments, employment & unemployment, labour & capital markets|
|Environmental||Global warming, conserving natural resources, sustainable development, pollution, carbon footprints, protecting the eco-environment|
|Political||Party politics, government, opposition, public administration, public policy, local government, pressure groups, public opinion, international organisations|
|Legal||Laws: employment, health & safety, consumer protection, company, codes of practice, regulatory bodies, the legal system & the courts|
|Ethical||Balancing stakeholder interests, ethical: business/workplace relations; production; consumption; purchasing. Employee welfare, human rights, corporate social responsibility|
|Demographic||Demography by size, age, gender, ethnicity, social background|
Before you start searching for academic sources, plan your approach.
A mind map or table can be a good strategy for organising ideas. As you search you will identify more terms which you can add to the table.
In this example, we explore these concepts: the SHRM strategy "talent management" AND age (the external factor):
|Key concepts||Strategy example: talent management||External factor example: (Demographic): age|
Use a variety of sources of information in your background research on the organisational context.
Start by searching the company's website. They may have listed media releases, annual reports, and promotions. Look for key information under headings such as:
Use the Company and Industry Information guide to source company/ industry information, financial/annual reports, media coverage and legislation/regulation.
Use the News Media guide to access international news sites and databases.
Watch the video below to learn about scholarly sources (2 min 22 sec)
As well as referring to your readings for ideas, facts and concepts for this assessment you can also find academic sources to support your report.
Tip: Googling is not considered as a legitimate search method for this assignment nor is it a substitute for reading relevant course material.
We recommend searching the following:
|Getting Started||Key databases|
|Library Collection||Business Source Ultimate|
The Library Collection is a useful starting point for locating academic references. It contains books, DVDs, journal and newspaper articles and more.
To perform a search, add:
Connect your terms using AND, OR and NOT
From the results list you can:
Business Source Ultimate provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more.
How to search Business Source Ultimate:
From the results page, the limits menu on the left will allow you to refine by date range and to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Scopus is one of the largest multidisciplinary bibliographic databases. Scopus covers peer reviewed journals, trade journals, books and book chapters, conference papers and patents. Material chosen for inclusion meets strict selection criteria such as type of peer review and significance to the field.
Learn how to conduct a basic search in Scopus by watching the tutorial video on their website:
For Assessment 2a you are to produce a PowerPoint presentation
Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together.
Watch this video (2m 53s) on report writing.
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.