Accounting: UniSA Online - ACCT 3013: Contemporary Issues in Accounting

1. Contemporary Issues in Accounting: Case Study

For this assessment, you are required to collaborate on an audiovisual presentation and written client brief, in response to one of the proposed scenarios.

See your course website for full assessment details.

2. Get to know your group

The following resources from the Student Engagement Unit can help you with getting to know your group, and understanding the assignment together:

3. Planning your search

Researching the topic of your scenario will help you find articles and resources to support your argument.

Think about some keywords that relate to your scenario. Here are just a few examples:

  • accounting standards, accounting regulation
  • regulation, regulation costs, regulatory increase
  • historical cost accounting, current cost accounting, fair value accounting
  • IASB, International Accounting Standards Boards, GAAP, Generally Accepted Accounting Principles

Then think about how you can string together various keywords to form a search term, remember to:

4. Finding references

Using the search box on the Library website, try out one of the search terms you've put together:

Once you are happy with your search term (it might involve some trial and error), you can then refine the results to make them more relevant by using the 'Tweak my results' menu on the left.

One of the options is to choose to Show Only Peer-Reviewed Journals:

You can also refine by date to show more recent articles:

Once you've finished your selections, remember to Apply Filters:

Databases contain additional resources that may not be available via the catalogue. The Library has many accounting databases. For finding journal articles, we recommend trying Business Source Complete, which contains a variety of high quality business content. Here is an demonstration on how to use this database:

1. Open Business Source Complete from the Library Catalogue

2. Enter in your search terms. Note that in this database, the connectors AND, OR, and NOT are built into the search boxes, and you can add more fields to build a longer search terms. 

3. Like the Library Catalogue, there will be a menu on the left where you can filter by date and source type. 

Loading ...

5. Presenting as a team

The Lynda.com course Presenting as a team (opens in a new window) contains a series of short videos on delivering a cohesive group presentation.

Other useful resources:

6. Writing a brief

You will need to work together as a group. Consider using a document collaboration tool so that you can all edit the same document.

Here are some things that might help:

  • UniSA offers the Microsoft Office 365 package free of charge.
  • By storing your files in the cloud using OneDrive, you can share them with each other so that you can all work on one single file.

You may also get some good tips from reading about accountant/ client relationships:

 

7. Referencing

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References or have a look at the Managing References guide to decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

Loading ...