Your assessment requires you to:

• Find 3 high-quality peer-reviewed sociological journal articles; 
• Use the assignment template provided to cite and annotate each in the APA 7th style

Each source is listed as a separate entry including:

• Full reference information
• Short summary of the main ideas in the text
• Brief critical evaluation/critique of the text

In your assignment you must use peer reviewed resources. Some scholarly journals, but not all, have a peer review process.

To find out more view

•   Explainer: what is peer-review?

Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed journals.

But a word of caution: Some limit to "Scholarly or Peer Reviewed" so they may also include scholarly material that is not peer reviewed.

If there's no way of limiting to peer reviewed journals, you will need to determine peer review status yourself. To learn how, view:

Planning your search helps you find information more efficiently.

Start by:

•  Identifying the main concepts in your research question
•  Thinking of any alternative concepts or synonyms for each concept

A table or mindmap can be a useful strategy for doing this. 

For example, if you are researching 'housing and inequality' you could do:

Ensure your results focus on sociological aspects by adding this as another search concept. You could also add a relevant theory or theorist here:

Now turn your terms into a search by:

• Combining alternative terms with the connector OR; and
• Combining different concepts with the connector AND

Tips:

•  Use * at the end of a word to find all word endings. EG sociol* will find sociology, sociologic, sociologically etc
•  Putting "double quotes" around a phrase will search for that exact term only

More help:

Start your search with the Library collection, which lists the majority of resources available through the Library.

Try an advanced search so you can build your search properly.

Using the Advanced search, you can specify where your search terms appear.

• Give each concept its own line
• Try searching for your sociology terms in the journal title field.
• You can also limit to material type: articles and by publication date

Example search:

housing OR "home ownership"
AND
inequality OR inequity
AND
societ* OR sociol* OR social

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Use the Google Scholar link from the Library website below for best access to full-text references. Also see the two videos below on the why and the how of using Google Scholar:

You  should also try searching relevant databases. Databases are search tools which allow you to find information from specific research areas.

Some key databases you could search:

You  should also try searching relevant databases. Databases are search tools which allow you to find information from specific research areas.

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest) is one database you could use in this assignment. It provides descriptive information for international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

Note: This is an example search using Sociological Abstracts but the same searching techniques can be applied in the other databases.

Example Advanced Search

• Put a different concept on each line.
• Use OR to connect any similar terms (synonyms).
• Select Anywhere but not the full text from the drop down menu to the right. You can also select Publication Title for your sociology line.
• Limit to Peer Review, and select a publication date limit if desired.

Example search:

housing OR "home ownership"
AND
inequality OR inequity
AND
societ* OR sociol* OR social

Some additional key databases you could search:

It is important to evaluate the information you find. Watch the short videos below:

Use the template supplied in your course site to record your annotated bibliography.  The associated help guide document on your course site includes some exemplars for this specific assignment.

You are required to reference your articles using the APA 7 style.

More help: