Business: BUSS 2067: International Business Environment - SP2- 2018 - Assessment 1

Case Study Report

M&S Textiles Australia is a manufacturer of quality cotton fabrics. Due to increased competition from cheaper imported goods, the company is contemplating the establishment of a manufacturing plant in Asia to reduce the cost of manufacturing at home. The company has identified Bangladesh, Thailand, Philippines, and Indonesia as potential countries for the establishment of the overseas manufacturing plant. As a complement of the current production in Australia, this new facility will supply products to customers around the world (include Australia), but it will not sell products itself. The headquarters of M&S Australia is responsible for sales and marketing at home and abroad.

You, as the task force of International Business Department in M&S Australia, are required to choose ONE of these countries, and write a report for the Board of Directors, identifying the advantages and disadvantages of operating in that country. Based on your findings, some relevant strategies should be suggested to benefit from the advantages and mitigate the disadvantages. The Board of Directors will decide where the company will go.

In preparing your report, you are required to link your arguments to the course content, and to use relevant data to support your suggestions such as why you would select the country, why you would choose an entry mode, and how the new foreign manufacturing plant would enhance M&S's current sales, etc.

  • Students are allowed to complete this assignment either individually or in a team of up to 5 students.
  • Both team-completed and individually finished reports follow the same requirements.
  • An assignment group should only have students from the same tutorial class or the same external class.
  • The report will be due 23:30pm 29 April 2018

Please check the Course Outline for full details of requirements

 

Suggestions: Make a plan at the beginning of this study period

  • Choose a country that you are interested in;
  • Break the assignment down into tasks for group members to share;
  • Make a plan of a due date for each task;
  • Fill in the form “Assignment Plan” (Appendix 3) and talk with your teacher about the plan;

Requirements:

  • Be aware that the assignment is in the style of a report
  • You may use both real information of M&S Textiles Australia and “presumed” information to complement the real information for supporting your arguments. Wherever “presumed” information is used, some reasonable justification is required
  • All resources used in your report must be dated no earlier than 2010, and no undated resources may be used
  • Your arguments should be based on facts and evidence. So it is important that you have used relevant reports, articles, and figures from reliable and reputable sources (preferred resources are listed here)
  • The Harvard system of referencing is to be used. Failure to use or adequately use the Harvard system of referencing will result in a grade of fail being awarded for this assessment.
  • It is suggested to use 15 to 18 references in the assignment, although more or less than this amount will not influence your marks.

Word Count: 2,000-2,500 words (excluding the executive summary and list of references) 

What is a Case Study?

Businessman clients portfolio icon by Freepik.com, CC BY 3.0: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/, Flickr: http://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/businessman-clients-portfolio_46774

A case study is "a written record of a real-life situation, it differs from other types of stories as it only includes facts and requires the reader to analyse the issues" (Gilmore 2005).

For help with reading and analysing case studies, have a look at these:

Keywords

Taki Steve 'Keys', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com

 
Watch our quick video Study Help: Plan Your Search

To find information for your assignment you'll need to construct a search strategy. Identify the main concepts of the topic and think about what keywords you can use in your search.

See our quick How to guides below for tips on keywords and how to connect and combine them in a search and wildcards and truncation which can help you find different spellings and alternative endings. For example: manag*  will find manage, managers, management, managerial

Some keywords to consider:
  • cotton, fabric, textile industry,
  • cotton, fabric manufacturing, manufacturing, manufactures
  • outsourcing, offshoring, contracting out
  • Bangladesh, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Asia
  • M&S Textiles
  • international business

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use - there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. What other terms can you think of?

Finding resources using the catalogue

The Library Catalogue enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases.

 

Catalogue search tips:

  • Refine Search to articles only, search for your keywords and then Refine Search > Format > Articles
  • Refine Search to peer reviewed articles Format > Peer Reviewed
  • Refine your results by Date
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "international business"

Sample searches:

     "international business" AND bangladesh

     "cotton industry" AND outsourcing

      fabric AND offshoring

International Business page

Please refer to the International Business page for more reading and references related to this course

Finding resources using databases and Google Scholar

Use the library databases to find information

Search Databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. By searching in a database in your subject area it will narrow your results allowing you to find more relevant articles. Databases also contain many ways to limit your results

Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

Limit your results to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) and by Published Date

Limit your search in Business Source Complete

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

Emerald Insight is an international database which indexes books and peer-reviewed journals across all areas of business. It also includes case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.

Type your keywords into the advanced search box.

All articles indexed in Emerald are peer-reviewed, so you do not need to limit your search results to retrieve them.

Limit your results by date, if you would like to.

Don't be fooled by the name - ScienceDirect is an excellent source of information on business and management. And, as an added bonus, all articles are peer-reviewed!

Type your search terms into the advanced search box to locate information.

You can limit your search to information related to Business, Management and Accounting selecting them from the subject area box. You can also limit your results by year.

Google Scholar Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

Navigate to the Beyond Google for your Research Guide Google Scholar tab

 

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option, select the hamburger menu on the left hand side of the screen, choose Advanced search. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

 

 

Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.
Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you should be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.
 
 
Loading ...

How to find...

You'll need to research the country you choose to base your report on.  Try the following sources to locate country profiles and information:

Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.

This guide will help you search the web, our databases and the Library catalogue for company and industry information, financial information, annual reports, legislation and regulation, media coverage and information on public/private companies.

Loading ...

Evaluating your information

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com  
  Watch our video Study Help: Evaluating Information

Referencing

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

You can find additional help with referencing at these sites:

More help

If you need more help try one of these options:"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • If you are in Adelaide ask at the Enquiries Desk in the Library or contact Ask the Library (via Chat, email or phone)
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Have a look at our online workshops and videos
  • Contact the UniSA Learning and Teaching Unit for help with referencing, writing reports and essays and plagiarism
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases