Business: MGM 20: International Business Environment - SP3- 2018

Case Study Report

M&S Textiles Australia is a manufacturer of quality cotton fabrics. Due to increased competition from cheaper imported goods, the company is contemplating the establishment of a manufacturing plant in Asia to reduce the cost of manufacturing at home. The company has identified Bangladesh, Thailand, Philippines, and Indonesia as potential countries for the establishment of the overseas manufacturing plant. As a complement of the current production in Australia, this new facility will supply products to customers around the world (include Australia), but it will not sell products itself. The headquarters of M&S Australia is responsible for sales and marketing at home and abroad.

You, as the task force of International Business Department in M&S Australia, are required to choose ONE of these countries, and write a report for the Board of Directors, identifying the advantages and disadvantages of operating in that country. Based on your findings, some relevant strategies should be suggested to benefit from the advantages and mitigate the disadvantages. The Board of Directors will decide where the company will go.

In preparing your report, you are required to link your arguments to the course content, and to use relevant data to support your suggestions such as why you would select the country, why you would choose an entry mode, and how the new foreign manufacturing plant would enhance M&S's current sales, etc.

  • Students are allowed to complete this assignment either individually or in a team of up to 5 students.
  • Both team-completed and individually finished reports follow the same requirements.
  • An assignment group should only have students from the same tutorial class or the same external class
     

* Please check the Course Outline and Course Page for full details of requirements*

 

Before you start searching

Before you start looking for information its always a good idea to plan your search and think of keywords, a mindmap can help and here is an example:

mindmap

Have a look at the below guides for more information about planning your search.

Finding resources using the catalogue

The Library Catalogue enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases.

 

Catalogue search tips:

  • Refine Search to articles only, search for your keywords and then Refine Search > Format > Articles
  • Refine Search to peer reviewed articles Format > Peer Reviewed
  • Refine your results by Date
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "international business"

Sample searches:

     "international business" AND bangladesh

     "cotton industry" AND outsourcing

      fabric AND offshoring

Finding resources using databases and Google Scholar

Use the library databases to find information

Search Databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. By searching in a database in your subject area it will narrow your results allowing you to find more relevant articles. Databases also contain many ways to limit your results

Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

Limit your results to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) and by Published Date

Limit your search in Business Source Complete

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

Emerald Insight is an international database which indexes books and peer-reviewed journals across all areas of business. It also includes case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.

Type your keywords into the advanced search box.

All articles indexed in Emerald are peer-reviewed, so you do not need to limit your search results to retrieve them.

Limit your results by date, if you would like to.

Google Scholar Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

Navigate to the Beyond Google for your Research Guide Google Scholar tab

 

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

 

 

Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.
Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you should be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.
 
 
Loading ...

How to find company information

For help with searching for  Company and industry information, have a look at our online guide. It contains a full list of useful databases and tips and tricks on how to search them.

How to find country information

You are required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of operating in your chosen country.

See below for some suggested resources. You can also visit the  'Country Information' tab in the Company and Industry Information guide for a full list of suggested resources.

Country Reports

Business Source Complete databases is a great place to start to find country reports and country risk reports. These reports contain information on the political, economic and business environment needed for your analysis.

  • Enter the name of the country (i.e. Austria or Canada or India) in the search box and select GE Geographic Terms from the drop down box

BSC example Indonesia

  • under Refine Results, select Sources Types > Country Report (select Show More to see the full range of sources)

Country Reports

warszawianka, 'tango emblem important', Image Source: Open Clip ArtTip: Check the publication date of the report for currency of the data.

How to write a report

Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report.

image of an information icon For more help on improving your academic skills and referencing, please visit Study Help page.

Good luck!

Photo by Amy Reed on Unsplash

If you need help just ask!