Business: BUSS 5034: International Business: Strategy and Ethics SP2 2019

1. BUSS 5034: International Business: Strategy and Ethics SP2 2019

This page was created to help you find information and write a your reflections and a report for assessments 1 & 2. Refer to your course outline for assessment details.

2. Plan your search

To begin your assessment, map out your question.
  • Identify the key concepts in the assignment question and any synonyms you could use
  • Remove task words from your assignment question eg. how, describe, analyse
  • Use the course readings or reliable websites to understand your topic
  • Think about what types of information you need - which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
  • Explore relevant theories that might apply to your topic
  • Check the assignment requirements - do you need to use recent information?

3. Assessment 1

Reflective writing

If you're not familiar with reflective writing as an assignment task, this video and resourced below it may assist you to understand what is required.

4. Assessment 1 & 2

Finding resources for your reflections and report

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

To do a search, try using

  • double quotes for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date eg 2015 to 2019
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
  • See Library Catalogue Help for additional searching tips.
Finding resources for your reflections and report

Business Source Complete provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Complete.

 

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

Finding resources for your reflections and report

Google Scholar Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Loading ...

5. Assessment 2

How to find company information

Use the More option in Business Source Complete to search for international company profiles.

Use Passport GMID to find information on international companies.

 For more information about finding company details see the Company and Industry Guide.

6. Assessment 2

How to write a report

Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report. For more help on improving your academic skills and referencing, please visit Study Help page.

Referencing and academic skills

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References or have a look at the Managing References guide to decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

Loading ...