Business: BUSS 2068: Management and Organisation: Case Study SP2 2019

1. Assessment 1 Case Study for BUSS 2068

 This assessment requires you to carefully study a case, and search for sources that support the discussion you present in your assignment.

This assignment help is designed to assist you in finding literature sources to support your argument. 

 Please see your course outline and course site for full assessment details. 

2. Plan your search

Before you begin your research you need to plan your search to get the best results. Watch the following video (2:26) for help getting started and view the PDF below for more information.

3. What is a credible source?

For your case study you are required to find a minimum of six (6) unique credible references. 

 A credible reference can also be known as a scholarly source or peer reviewed (refereed) article. 

To find out how to make sure information is academic, scholarly or peer reviewed, watch our video on Scholarly Sources Explained (2:22) or see the PDF document below.

 The following video (3:17) will help you evaluate the sources you have found.

4. Find academic references

 The Library Catalogue is a useful starting point for locating academic references. It searches across the Library's collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases. 

To do a search, try using:

  • double quotes for phrases (eg, "performance management")
  • truncation* to find plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

​​

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
  • Limit by Date eg 2015 to 2019
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link

 Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. As advantage of Google Scholar is that is provides access to many of UniSA's scholarly/academic articles if you connect to it via the link above, or from the Library home page

The Advanced search option gives you more flexibility when you search (note you will have to click on the hamburger menu  then select Advanced search)

 Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. Subjects include marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. 

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen. 

Loading ...

5. Writing a case study

The following video (4:06) will assist you in writing case studies.

The following resources may also be useful:

For more help on improving your academic skills and referencing, please visit the Study Help page. 

6. Referencing and academic skills

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References or have a look at the Managing References guide to decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

Loading ...