Theses: Find theses

Finding UniSA Theses

Theses in the Library Catalogue can include:

  • UniSA theses available in our research archive, Research Outputs Repository (ROR)
  • non-UniSA theses individually purchased - for example from the British Library
  • theses subscribed to via databases such as ProQuest
     

To find a thesis via the Library Catalogue:

1. Search for the exact title or keywords on your topic:

 

 

 

 

2.In the left menu ('Tweak my results'). Click 'show more' under Resource Type:

 

3. Tick Theses and then Apply Filters.

Note:  You  can also add a filter to show only 'full text online'. This will exclude some older theses which may not have been digitised and are only available as a physical copy. 

4. to limit your results to PhD Theses from UniSA only, expand the Collection submenu, select 'Research Outputs Repository' from the presented list, and Apply Filters.

The Library no longer collects Research Proposals. You can search the Library catalogue for proposals held prior to 2014 or exemplars that have been provided on request to Schools.

Exemplar Research proposals can be accessed from the appropriate Divisional page from the Exemplar tab. 

If you wish to view other examples by UniSA PhD Candidates you can search the Library Catalogue. Research proposals are restricted and can only be viewed by UniSA Staff and students.

How to access Research Degree proposals.

  1. In the Library Catalogue search box type both phrases “research proposal” "university of south australia"
  2. Then select Search (press Enter or click on the magnifying glass)

  1. Add another search term if you want to limit by a subject e.g. "research proposal" "university of south australia" midwifery

To open the Research Proposal:

  1. Select the title of the Research Proposal
  2. Access via the Online link
  3. You may need to 'Sign in' (enter your UniSA username and password) to access the proposal

Loading ...

Obtaining a thesis from another library

You might discover a thesis you want to read via a:

If the full text is not available online, please submit an InterLibrary Loan via the:

     Resource sharing request form

Put in as much information as possible, under the heading of 'Book'. UniSA Library will then try to obtain either a physical or digital copy for you.

Finding Australian or International theses

Trove is an online discovery service run by the National Library of Australia. You can use Trove to search across theses written at most Australian universities (including UniSA).

To search Trove:

  1. Go to the Advanced Search page
  2. Enter in your search term.
  3. Limit your results to Australian content only:
  4. Click the Search button: 
  5. From your results page, look at the Refine your results menu on the left and select the Format of Thesis:
  6. To see all of the results choose view all beneath the books heading:

    From your results list, you can use the same menu on the left to make further refinements, such as limiting by decade.
  7. When you have found a title you are interested in, click on the title to open the record for it.
  8. Beneath the Edition Details, scroll down to 'Get this Edition'. If the thesis is available online, there will be an access link:

    The link will take you to the hosting library's website where you should be able to read or download a copy of the thesis.

If there is no copy available for download, read on below for what to do next.

ProQuest Logo [ image source: ProQuest database]
ProQuest dissertations & theses global contains theses from graduate schools and universities worldwide with:

  • millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to present
  • 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format

​To search for dissertations and theses, select:

  1. Advanced Search
  2. AB abstract rather than the default Anywhere (with Anywhere selected, ProQuest looks for your words (search terms) in all fields - including any available abstract or full text - of all documents in all selected databases)
  3. Add a row to add more words to your search

Advanced search [Image source Proquest database] 

  1. Manuscript type field in the Search options section where the search can be limited to doctoral dissertations or master's theses

 Manuscript type [Image source Proquest database]

ProQuest contains dissertations and theses from around th world.

1. Open the database ProQuest dissertations & theses global

2. Select the Advanced search option

3. On the first line, type in: "fine arts",
and then select All subjects & indexing- SU from the drop down box on the right (see image below)

4. In the second search box, type in MFA and choose Degree.
MFA stands for Master of Fine Arts (highest qualification for fine arts in the U.S.A.)

5. Click the search button: 

 

Trove 

1. Go to the Advanced Search page in Trove

2. In the Keywords field, type in: exegesis

3.  In the Format field, select Thesis from the drop down:



 

4. Click the Search button: 

Loading ...