Promote and Share Your Research: Your online profile

Your online profile

If you search for yourself using a search engine, what do you find?

Your profiles [Image source: Pixabay, CC0 Public Domain]

Do the search results reflect what you would like potential funding bodies, employers and collaborators to see?

 

UniSA staff homepage

For UniSA staff, it is likely that your staff homepage will rank highly in search engine results.

'Must have' profiles and author identifiers

Author identifiers

It is an endorsed approach of the University that all academic staff members are required to provide three author identifiers - ORCID, Scopus (where available) and ResearcherID.

Why? The major reason is author disambiguation - reliably linking an individual to their research outputs - with flow-on benefits in reduced administrative burden and improved data accuracy through automated harvesting and data exchange, and improved visibility and discoverability. Some publishers and funding bodies have already made provision of an ORCID mandatory.

  • ORCID is independent, community-driven and intended to be overarching
  • Scopus Author ID is automatically generated for authors whose work is indexed in Scopus
  • ResearcherID is provided by Thomson Reuters (the company that provides Web of Science)

Scopus AuthorID and ResearcherID are required because of the role of Scopus and Web of Science in providing citation data for university ranking purposes.

Staff homepages

UniSA staff homepage author identifier badgesIn About me you should see these three badges appear, linking to your ORCID, Scopus and ResearcherID profiles. If not, contact your Academic Library Team.

You may also choose to add 'Social Media Links' which will add badges for your Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and/or YouTube accounts.

If you want to link to any other profiles you will need to do this elsewhere e.g. under 'Other Research Outputs'.

ORCID logo

Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCiD) is a free, internationally recognised, non-profit registry system. It allows you to:

  • generate a unique, persistent identifier to easily distinguish yourself from other researchers
  • list all of your research outputs in one place (via import or manual entry)
  • centrally list and link to other identifiers including ResearcherID and Scopus Author ID

Grant applications and publishing

ORCID identifiers are increasingly being used by funding bodies and journal publishers as a way to identify researchers. You may be required to add your ORCID identifier when submitting papers with some publishers, or applying for certain grants.

Tip - include research output unique identifiers

Include unique identifiers such as Digital Object Identifiers in your ORCID records where available. This will improve discoverability and aggregation of metrics.

Scopus logoScopus (provided by Elsevier) is a large multidisciplinary database chosen to provide citation information for the Excellence in Research Australia (ERA) 2015 evaluation.

Scopus automatically generates Author IDs to distinguish between authors in its database. Scopus Author profiles show:

  • all your publications indexed in Scopus
  • citation metrics using Scopus data

You will only have a Scopus Author ID if you have work indexed in Scopus.

Scopus Author IDs should be:

  • listed in your Academic Staff Activity Report
  • linked from your UniSA homepage
  • integrated with your ORCID profile

There can be errors in Scopus author records, such as erroneous attribution of one researcher’s works to another with a similar name, or two or more records (and identifiers) for the one author. A feedback wizard allows researchers to request merging of records, preferred name (of the versions under which works have been published) and to remove or add publications indexed in Scopus to their profile. 

If your Scopus Author ID is missing from your Academic Staff Activity Report or homepage, or you would like assistance to request corrections or integrate with ORCID, contact your Academic Library Team.

ResearcherID logoResearcherID is an author disambiguation and profiling tool provided by Thomson Reuters.

In 2013, all UniSA staff were automatically assigned unpopulated ResearcherID profiles. You may have a ResearcherID number but find that your research outputs are absent or incomplete.

ResearcherID profiles can show:

  • all your publications indexed in Web of Science
  • non-Web of Science research outputs
  • citation data for publications indexed in Web of Science

As with ORCID, the profile needs to be manually created and kept up-to-date via publication selection and import or manual creation of records.

ResearcherIDs should be:

  • listed in your Academic Staff Activity Report
  • linked from your UniSA homepage
  • integrated with your ORCID profile

If your ResearcherID is missing from your Academic Staff Activity Report or homepage, or you would like assistance to request corrections or integrate with ORCID, contact your Academic Library Team.

Loading ...

A few popular profiling and networking tools for researchers

These are a few of the tools and services where you can create an online profile with information about yourself and your work. Each offers a unique set of features and capabilities, and may be used for different purposes.


Academia.edu  |  Facebook  |  Google Scholar Citations

LinkedIn  |  Mendeley  |  ResearchGate  |  Twitter

Before you create a profile, you might want to consider:

  • Who do you want to reach - other researchers, the public, practitioners...?
  • Can you list your publications and if so how easy is it to do this?
  • Can you upload full text of publications (where copyright permits)?
  • What metrics can you view on engagement with your activity or work - e.g. citations, views...?
  • What you want to achieve - greater exposure for your work, find collaborators, get comments from peers on drafts, participate in online communities, keep up-to-date with the latest publications in a field...?

Why  Academia.edu?

This academic social network allows you to create a profile, list your research outputs with downloadable full text where copyright permits, nominate research interests, find and follow individuals and research interests, upload and request feedback on drafts, provide feedback on others' drafts (where enabled), and track engagement with your work through page and profile views.

To find an existing UniSA staff member profile enter the URL
https://unisa-au.academia.edu/FirstnameLastname

Highlights

  • Institutional affiliation not required - can sign up as an Independent Researcher
  • Can add external links to publications details e.g. to related resources or a source of the full text
  • Can add external links to your profile information e.g. a link to your blog

Limitations

  • Restricted item types - Papers, Books, Talks, Teaching Documents, Drafts, Book Reviews, Conference presentations, Thesis chapters
  • Limited opportunities for interaction
  • Basic profile - Affiliation, Biography, Research Interests, Links
  • Limited metrics
  • Disorganised institution pages

UniSA on Academia.edu: a sample

Why Facebook?

This social networking service allows you to create a personal profile, share text, photos, links and more and engage with material shared by others. You can create and join groups. Businesses, organisations and brands can create pages. There are extensive privacy settings which allow you to categorise the people with whom you engage and determine what they can see. You can choose to follow public posts by individuals.

Highlights

  • Reach - Facebook has significant takeup and you may find profiles for many with whom you would like to engage e.g. publishers, editors, other researchers

Limitations

  • Purpose - targeted at informal exchanges between family and friends
  • Concerns over blurred boundaries between the personal and professional
  • Privacy considerations - you need to carefully manage what you share

UniSA on Facebook: a sample

Other Facebook pages:

Why Google Scholar Citations?

A Google Scholar Citations profile allows you to create a list of your research outputs and track citations for those indexed in Google Scholar. About Google Scholar Citations

Highlights

  • Coverage - Google Scholar includes information about a great range of different publications from many sources, and captures citations not found by the more restrictive citations databases such as Scopus and Web of Science
  • Automated updates - you can choose to allow automatic addition of work to your profile, or to received email alerts to review and confirm

Limitations

  • Minimal profile - limited to photo, name, affiliation, 'areas of interest', link to homepage and co-authors
  • Affiliation required - eligible institutional email address required for inclusion in Google scholar search results
  • Errors in records can require cleanup such as merging and editing
  • Quality and reliability - the automated nature of the service and lack of transparency means that errors can occur and citation counts may not be accepted by some bodies (e.g. not eligible for UniSA Academic Promotion purposes)

UniSA on Google Scholar Citations:

Why LinkedIn?

This career and industry-oriented social network allows individuals and companies to create profiles and develop and engage with professionally-oriented connections. If you choose to have a profile here, it is likely to be ranked highly in search engine results.

LinkedIn for researchers

Stacy Konkiel in her blog post Make LinkedIn work for your research (2014) provides general advice on how to create an effective and low maintenance profile. For researchers, a few of her suggestions include: highlighting expertise in a succinct headline; using the summary to 'provide concrete details about your research and why it matters'; highlighting only 'your best papers...and most prestigious awards'; adding visually appealing content such as posters, slide decks and figures from manuscripts; and connecting with other researchers.

Limitations

  • Purpose - career and industry-oriented
  • Analytics for engagement with your profile and posts, but not with your publications

UniSA on LinkedIn: a sample

Why Mendeley?

Mendeley is a crowd-sourced database, reference manager and academic social network focused on publication discovery. You can create a profile including your academic degree/title, professional and educational history, research interests and publications. You can also follow other members and create and participate in public and private groups.

Mendeley provides various analytics for engagement with your work.

Author profile URL format: https://www.mendeley.com/profiles/firstname-surname/

 

 

Why ResearchGate?

This academic social network allows you to create a profile, list your research outputs with downloadable full text where copyright permits, nominate and be endorsed for expertise, find and follow individuals and topics, comment on and review others' work, expose your own work to comment and review, ask and answer research questions, and track engagement with your work through a variety of metrics.

To find an existing profile enter the URL
https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Firstname_Surname

Highlights

  • Pre-populates records for many publications - less manual entry
  • Detail accommodated in profile - Degree, Position, Affiliation, Skills & Expertise, Research Experience, Teaching Experience, Education, Awards & Achievements, Languages, ORCID and more
  • Wide variety of output types - Article, Book, Chapter, Code, Conference paper, Cover page, Dataset, Experiment findings, Method, Negative results, Patent, Poster, Presentation, Raw data, Research proposal, Technical report, Thesis, Working paper
  • Ability to mint DOIs - create unique identifiers for unpublished work
  • Detailed institution pages
  • Engagement features - Q & A, comments, reviews
  • Variety of metrics - traditional (citations) and 'alternative' e.g. views

Limitations

  • Institutional affiliation required to join
  • Can't add links for full text of outputs on other sites
  • Can't add links to sites such as personal blogs or websites   
  • Can't mint DOIs for 'already published' outputs such as articles

UniSA on ResearchGate: a sample

Why Twitter?

This information network allows you to keep up-to-date (with areas, activities, topics, organisations, and more) through following the 280 character 'tweets' posted by individuals and organisations. You can engage by responding to others' tweets and creating tweets of your own, which can include photos, videos and links. Using Twitter

Twitter provides the opportunity to engage with a diverse range of individuals, groups and organisations, including those traditionally difficult to reach. This can include industry, researchers, community groups, media, organisations, government bodies, practitioners, and many others.

UniSA on Twitter: a sample

Loading ...

Security and privacy

Unlocked [Image: By CyberHades 2005, networkunlockedcloseup.jpg, https://www.flickr.com/photos/cyberhades/5486028505/, CC BY-NC 2.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/deed.en, source: flickr]Before using any service you should investigate different options and providers thoroughly. A few considerations include:

  • Is this the best solution for my needs?
    Is it economical and does it provide the right functionality?
  • Who is the 'owner' of the service?
    Are they well known, considered viable for a long time and have a good reputation?
    What happens to my data if the provider fails?
  • Will my content be secure and private?
    Does this vary between products? How will my data be protected? Is data backed up?
    How will I report a security breach and what action will be taken?
  • Does the product have any terms and conditions of use?
    Will I lose any rights over my data e.g. consider my copyright and intellectual property rights?
  • What internal policies (e.g. university) or laws impact on my use of the service?
Loading ...
Loading ...