The Gregor Ramsey Collection is a digital collection available through the University of South Australia's Special Collection Catalogue.

Discover the Collection by searching the Special Collection Catalogue or browsing Collection Discovery.

For further help contact Ask the Library.

The Gregor Ramsey Collection documents the career of Dr Gregor Ramsey AM (1936-2018). Starting as a science teacher in South Australian public schools, Dr Ramsey went on to becoming one of Australia's foremost experts on education. As a policy maker and administrator, he was not only instrumental in shaping Australia's current system of higher and vocational education but also travelled the globe to consult on educational systems. Dr Ramsey served as principal of four Colleges of Advanced Education in Adelaide and was instrumental in advocating for and implementing the consolidation process that resulted in the establishment of the University of South Australia in 1991.

The Collection includes speeches, articles, papers and reports written by Dr Ramsey, personal correspondence and newspaper clippings.

Dr Gregor Ramsey, AM had a distinguished career in education. He started his career as a science and maths teacher. Winning a scholarship to complete a PhD in curriculum development at the Ohio State University, Dr Ramsey lived in America for 2 years. Returning to Australia Dr Ramsey worked for the Australian Council for Education Research, developing a national approach to teaching science.

In the 1970s Dr Ramsey was the principal of four Colleges of Advanced Education in Adelaide, South Australia. He was instrumental in the formation of the South Australian College of Advanced Education, through the consolidation of six Colleges of Advanced Education in 1984. This merger led to the establishment of UniSA in 1991.

Moving to Canberra in 1984, Dr Ramsey held positions including Commissioner of the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission, Chair of the Higher Education Council and Chair of the National Board of Employment, Education and Training. Dr Ramsey went on to become the Managing Director of the New South Wales TAFE Commission, a position which saw him transform vocational education and training in that state.

Dr Ramsey has also been an advocate for Indigenous education. In 2001 Dr Ramsey became the Project Director for the Desert Peoples Centre in Alice Springs, where he worked to improve Indigenous education and services. 

In 2007 Dr Ramsey was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his service to education, particularly higher education, vocational education and training.

After 1995 Dr Ramsey provided consultancy services on education, particularly university and vocational education and Indigenous education until his death on 4 May 2018.

National Library of Australia

Search TROVE

State Library of South Australia

Search the catalogue

VOCED plus - Tertiary education research database

Search the database