Guides: Archives and Special Collections: Sir Eric Neal

Sir Eric Neal Collection

Explore the Collection

The Sir Eric Neal Collection is housed in the Sir Eric Neal Library at the Mawson Lakes campus of the University of South Australia.

Discover the Collection through the Collection box list, searching the Special Collection Catalogue or browsing Collection Discovery.

Digital copies of some items are available from the Catalogue, however physical material is not available for loan.

Access to the Collection is by appointment, contact Ask the Library.

Photo Stream

Sir Eric Neal receiving his Knighthood

Sir Eric Neal as Works Engineer - Broken Hill Gas Co

Sir Eric Neal as Boral CEO

Collection Overview

The Sir Eric Neal Collection documents the distinguished contribution of Sir Eric Neal AC to engineering and Australian business. Sir Eric Neal trained as an engineer at the South Australian School of Mines, a predecessor institution of the University of South Australia. A successful engineering career led to serving as CEO of Boral for 14 years. He served as a board member of several companies including BHP, Atlas CopCo, Westpac and John Fairfax Ltd. He was Chief Commissioner of Sydney in 1987-1988, and in 1996 was the first businessman appointed to the office of Governor of South Australia, serving until 2001.

The Collection includes reports, correspondence, programs, invitations, photographs and other records for Sir Eric’s diverse activities in business and the community. The books on gas and engineering date from the 1860s and were either collected by Sir Eric or inherited from his father.

Biography

Sir Eric Neal worked as an engineer before becoming a board member of several companies including Boral, John Fairfax Ltd and BHP. Sir Eric was well regarded for his management skills and was recognised for his corporate leadership. He became Chief Commissioner of Sydney in the late 1980s and was the first businessman to be appointed to the office of Governor of South Australia in 1996.

Sir Eric Neal has been recognised for his significant contribution to Australian business. He received a knightship in 1982 and was made a Companion of the Order of Australia in 1988. In 1992 he was made a Commander of the Royal Victorian Order. He was named Australian Business Magazine's Businessman of the Year in 1987.

While serving as the Governor of South Australia, Sir Eric led trade missions to the Shan Dong province of China, Malaysia, Sweden and the United States of America.

Following his retirement as Governor in 2001, Sir Eric was Chancellor of Flinders University until 2010. He was chair of the South Australian Government Road Safety Advisory Council between 2003 and 2011 and has chaired the South Australian Veterans' Advisory Council since 2009.