Guides: Archives and Special Collections: Chris Hurford

Chris Hurford Collection

Explore the Collection

The Chris Hurford Collection is housed in the Jeffrey Smart Building at the City West Campus of the University of South Australia.

Discover the Collection through the Collection box list, searching the Special Collection Catalogue or browsing Collection Discovery.

Digital copies of some items are available from the Catalogue, however physical material is not available for loan.

Access to the Collection is by appointment, contact Ask the Library.

Collection Overview

The Chris Hurford Collectio n documents the life and career of the Hon Chris Hurford AO (1931-2020). Hurford studied at the London School of Economics and worked in accountancy before entering politics. He was elected as the Member for Adelaide, representing the Australian Labor Party in the 1969 federal election, holding this position until his retirement in 1987. During his time in parliament, he served as a Shadow Minister for seven years and a Minister of the Hawke Government for five years. After retiring from politics, he served as Australia’s Consul General in New York for four years. In retirement, he continued his interest in political matters, particularly Australian constitutional reform.

The Collection was transferred to the Library from the National Archives of Australia in 2001. It includes Mr Hurford’s personal papers from student days until his retirement from Federal Parliament, photographs, memorabilia and audio-visual material.

Biography

The Hon Chris J. Hurford AO (1931-2020), studied at the London School of Economics and worked as an accountant before he entered parliament in 1969, as Member for the House of Representatives for Adelaide. He held this seat until his retirement in 1987.

Hurford's political career included serving as a Labor Shadow Minister for seven years and a Minister of the Hawke Government for five years. Hurford was the Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs between 1984 and 1987 and the Minister for Community Services in 1987. One of Hurford's major contributions was developing a skills-based immigration policy to help build the economy.

Hurford resigned from politics in 1987 and served as Australia’s Consul General in New York for four years. Since retirement, Hurford continued his interest in political matters, particularly Australian Constitutional Reform. Mr Hurford died 15 November 2020.