Highlights from the collection
Wooden toy train
This train was made by Cynthia Hannaford between 1961 and 1963 at the Kindergarten Training College
Improvised bubble blowing
Children using bamboo bubble pipes to blow bubbles at Port Adelaide Kindergarten in the 1940s
Doll
Little doll from the collection
Kindergarten Training College students
Graduating students from 1938
Matchbox doll
Handmade finger puppet made from a matchbox
Franklin Street Kindergarten
Children gardening at Franklin Street Kindergarten in 1908
Kindy kids
Children at kindergarten with instruments
Handmade book
A book about Christmas made by a Kindergarten Teachers College student 1957
Keith Sheridan Kindergarten
Children on mats playing at Keith Sheridan Kindergarten in 1928
Activities book
Handmade by Romola Wollaston
Activities book
Handmade by Romola Wollaston
Water play
Children playing with water in the Netherby Kindergarten's paddling pool in 1954
Wooden toy boat
This boat was made by Cynthia Hannaford between 1961 - 1963 at the Kindergarten Training College
Kids crafting
Kids making craft in the 1960s
At play
Kids climbing on packing cases and other equipment - 1960s
Doll
Little doll from the collection
Fundraising
Kindergarten Training College Students selling badges in the city for the Kindergarten Union of South Australia Appeal
Lillian De Lissa with students
Kindergarten students with Lillian De Lissa at Ashfield Day Nursery (Sydney) in 1908
Finger puppets
Multi-coloured felt finger puppets
Train
Kindy kids playing on a life-size play train in 1962
Clapping blocks
Wooden clapping blocks with coloured handles
Kids at play
Kids playing at Lucy Morice Free Kindergarten circa 1950
Sock puppets
Handmade puppets with button eyes
Climbing equipment
Outdoor equipment for climbing at Lucy Morice Free Kindergarten
Child development book
Handmade by Betty Daniels
Child development book
Handmade by Betty Daniels
Paddling pool
Children in paddling pool at Netherby Kindergarten in 1955
Paper folding book
Book made in 1935 by Joan Goode, a Kindergarten Training College student showing paper folding techniques
Kindy kids
Kids playing
Outside play
Kids playing outside
Lambs
Handmade lambs made from pipe cleaners
Dolls
Dolls dressed as shepherds to go with the pipe cleaner lambs
Books from the collection
Two little girls an Australian book of children's poetry
Good fun singing games: Book 2 physical exercises set to music
Meeting the needs of our children a history of Brisbane Kindergarten Teachers College from 1911-1981
Rediscovering unit blocks a booklet exploring the use of unit blocks in kindergartens 1992
Creating with cast-offs Volume 1: Paper provides craft ideas for children using paper 1980
Ideas for backyard playgrounds 1969
Folk songs for young singers a book of piano music
The Adelaide Kindergarten Teachers College a history of the college from 1907-1974
Fun with the family ideas for creative play with the family
Grandpa and me a book of stories and poems for children 1944
See-saws & swings and other children's songs piano music book 1948
Talks given by Lillian De Lissa in 1955
Music for children a book of piano music 1949
Early Childhood Research
Some examples of what you will
find in the bibliography:
De Lissa Association Collection
The de Lissa Association Collection was donated by the de Lissa Association of Early Childhood Graduates upon its disassociation in 2011. The Association (previously known as the Kindergarten Club) was established in 1911 and actively supported Early Childhood Education in South Australia in several ways. Their activities included advocacy for early childhood, a student prize for original research, the Betty Davis Research Grant, funding for early childhood education ventures and the lending of pianos to contribute to music programs in Kindergarten.
Material in the Collection relates to the history of the Kindergarten Movement from its beginnings and the development of early childhood education in South Australia, including educational pioneer Lillian de Lissa. Records relating to Gypsy Hill Training College (UK) also form part of the collection. Material relating to the Collection but not part of the original donation have been added to the Collection, including records related to Betty Davis, a former student and later principal of the Kindergarten Training College. The Collection includes papers, correspondence, books, photographs, newspaper clippings, slides and items made by graduates which were used for teaching in kindergartens.
Explore the Collection
The de Lissa Association Collection is housed in the Jeffrey Smart Building at the City West Campus of the University of South Australia.
Discover the Collection through the Collection box list, searching the Special Collection Catalogue or browsing Collection Discovery.
Digital copies of some items are available from the Catalogue, however physical material is not available for loan.
Access to the Collection is by appointment, contact Ask the Library.
Jeph Ko 2017, The de Lissa legacy: a history of South Australia’s early childhood education, video produced for the University of South Australia Library
Further Information
- A history of early childhood education in South Australia is a timeline of the history of early childhood education in South Australia spanning pre colonization to the present day, published by the University of South Australia
Lillian De Lissa
Lillian setup the first free kindergarten in Adelaide in 1906 and also established the Kindergarten Teacher's College in 1907, to train teachers in early childhood education. She also went on to establish kindergartens in the United Kingdom. Throughout her life she was a passionate advocate for early childhood education, speaking at seminars and publishing many articles.
Click here for more information about Lilian de Lissa.
