Performing Arts: Find Resources

Books

Books can provide:[Horia Varlan, 'Hardcover book gutter and pages', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/), Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/horiavarlan/4268896468/)]

  • definitions
  • overviews
  • step-by-step guides
  • in-depth information on a topic
  • images

...and much more comprehensive coverage of a topic than a webpage targeted at the layperson.

Many books in the Library's collection are written or edited by people with expertise in the relevant field.

The Library Catalogue is the best place to begin your search for relevant books.

The Library continually purchases books to support all disciplines and research areas. Many of these are available online.

Catalogue search tips:

  • If you know the exact title type it into the search box and select Title from the drop-down list e.g. Performing Arts Management: a handbook of professional practice (you only need enough of the title to distinguish it from others)
  • If you are searching for a resource with a common title try adding the author's surname to your search
  • Do a keyword search to find information on a particular topic e.g. "performing arts" theatre
  • Use the Refine Search options to narrow your search e.g. by Format (e.g. book, media (for audiovisual))[johnny_automatic, 'open book', CC Licence: CC0 1.0 https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/, Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/7555/open-book-by-johnny_automatic]
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "performing arts" OR "south australia"

Other sources for books:

Journals and Journal Articles

Journals enable you to keep up to date with the latest - research, trends, events,

conferences, projects, theories...and to gain an historical

perspective by accessing material published in previous decades.

Journal articles usually focus on a very specific aspect of a topic,

and may be the only source of information on that aspect.

UniSA Library subscribes to thousands of journals on behalf of UniSA

students and researchers. Most are available as fulltext online from

your desktop, laptop or mobile device.

How to find journal articles on a topic[Andrew Fitzsimon, "Thumbnail", Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/25565, CC0 1.0 https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]

  • Browse journal issues (can be interesting, but takes time, and you won't find everything written on the topic)
  • Search the Library Catalogue
  • Search a database

The Library Catalogue lets you search inside many journals, but does not cover all relevant publications. It also covers every discipline. If you're looking for something specific to a discipline, it can be faster to go straight to an appropriate database. See the databases box for a list of the most popular relevant databases for performing arts.

Catalogue search tips:

  • To find articles on a subject, type in your keywords and then refine by Format > Articles e.g. theatre "performing arts" australia
  • To search for articles from a specific journal, try Advanced Search
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "performing arts" OR "south australia"
  • Use an asterisk * to find alternate word endings e.g. theat* finds theatre or theater

These are just a few of the journals with articles relevant to the performing arts and its many varied subjects, there are many more!

Access the full text online by clicking on the following links:

Performing Arts resources in LinkedIn Learning

Pixabay, 'Concert Performance', CC Licence: CC0 Public Domain, (https://pixabay.com/en/service/terms/#usage), Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/concert-performance-audience-336695/

Training videos to develop digital, technology, creative and business skills.

Top tips

  1. Follow-up on the recommended resources - find and read/view materials referred to in your course information

  2. Go beyond your set readings - in your references, show your knowledge of the broader literature available on the topic, including awareness of a variety of viewpoints/interpretations

  3. Use the most appropriate search tool for what you need to find

  4. Use the terms of others in your searches - what subject terms (also known as 'subject headings' or 'descriptors') appear in Catalogue/database records (and usually under 'refine' on the results page)? Also look at the terms used by authors of relevant publications that you find. Could some of these be useful in future searches?

  5. Try different combinations of search terms

  6. Searching takes time! Don't expect to find all of the information you need for a more in-depth assessment - such as an essay - in one session. Typically you will search, read, and then search again, with new ideas and terms to direct your searches

  7. Always evaluate what you find - is it relevant? Scholarly?

Performing Arts

Audiovisual

To find audiovisual material within the library catalogue type in your search terms or keywords and then refine your search by 'format' - 'media' using the 'Refine search' options on the left side of the screen.

You can also limit it to a location, author, subject or collection. This will find both audio and video items in the collection.

Music Scores

If you wish to search for music scores/sheet music in the library catalogue, simply type the title of the piece of music you are looking for into the search box and click search. Then refine your search using the format refinement of 'score' on the left side of the page.

e.g. "Bran Nue Dae"

If you want to search generally for music where you do not know the title or if you would like to browse, type in 'music' into the search box and again refine to 'score' giving you over 63000 choices.

The following sites provide free downloads, but take care as some items may still be in copyright.

Purchasing Sheet Music: Most of the following are commercial sites:

Scripts

If you wish to search for screenplays in the library catalogue simply type the title, followed by the word screenplay into the search box.

eg. Proof Screenplay

If you want to search generally for plays where you do not know the title or would like to browse, type 'screenplay' into the search box and refine by book format down the left side of the page.

The following sites offer screenplays for download.

Next Step

Navigate to the Evaluate page, image source: Pixabay, CC LIcence: CC0It is important to evaluate the resources that you find.

At University there is the expectation that you will use scholarly material to support your arguments.

See the Evaluate page for information about evaluating.

 

Browse UniSA's subscribed journals and easily access PDFs

BrowZine

BrowZine™ allows you to easily access and browse journals available online via UniSA. Access via Catalogue > Journals

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad™ is a Google Chrome Extension that makes it easy to access journal articles anywhere on the internet. 

 

undefined

For instructions on how to install BrowZine and LibKey, visit Library News

My Bookshelf is the place where you can organise your favorite journals and stay up to date in your field!  You may rename and organise your "shelves" and "bookcases" however you'd like! This configuration will automatically sync to your other devices when you use the same login.

See the video below to learn how to add a journal to My bookshelf (11 mins)

undefined

  • What is the BrowZine Account?

The BrowZine Account is the system used to provide personalization features throughout the BrowZine ecosystem.  Having a BrowZine Account is required for using My Bookshelf on all devices as it is used to tie together your different devices so you only need to configure My Bookshelf on one device and the configuration will sync seamlessly between them.

  • What email can I use to create my BrowZine Account?  Does it matter?

In most cases, you can use any email you would like!  For libraries using the BrowZine Pairing Service, you may be restricted to using only your university/company email address.  BrowZine will alert you to this fact if you try to use another email at one of these accounts automatically.

  • Do I have to have an account?  Can I use BrowZine at all without one?

No, you do not have to have an account to use BrowZine.  You can still browse the shelves, look up titles, read tables of contents, and download articles.  However, in order to use the personalization feature of My Bookshelf and My Articles, a BrowZine account is required so that we can synchronize and back-up your data across all devices and ensure that we keep your device accurately updated.

  • What if you can't find a journal in BrowZine?
    • ​You can try searching the name of the journal in the Library catalogue, e.g. Journal of advanced nursing.
    • For table of contents of the journal, search the web by journal title. Most publishers offer email alerts for the table of contents of the latest issue's.
    • Contact Interlibrary Loans and Document Delivery Service (Eligibility applied).
    • Remember there maybe free Open Access versions of journal articles - use the Unpaywall Chrome/Firefox extension to find them (about Unpaywall)