Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication and account for a large percentage of university research output. They:
Journals contain collections of articles and are generally published on a regular basis (e.g. issues are released monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly etc.). They can be found via Library databases.
Remember to evaluate! Just as with books, there are different types of of journals. Not all journals are suitable for your assignments.
Selected nursing journals
Databases are search tools for finding articles, papers, reports, book chapters and more. Search by topic, author, or in a specific publication. Scholarly references are best found in databases.
Databases can be discipline specific (such as Emcare), or multidisciplinary (such as Scopus). Many contain full text material, or the reference and abstract only.
Emcare (via Ovid) Database includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health
Search Emcare Tutorial
Make sure your recommendations meet the specifications outlined in a care framework. Some key ones are linked to below.
Databases may look different but how you apply your search strategy to them is often very similar. This video shows you how to search the database Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) and Scopus.
Shows how to apply your search in Scopus. [Low quality version of video available]
Other videos in this series:
Need more evidence? Consider searching for books. Click the image to learn how.
Once you have found the evidence you intend to use for your assignment, you should evaluate it. Click the image to learn how.