Nursing: NURS 5150 - Leadership and Management in Nursing & Health Contexts

Assessment 1 - Discussion Paper

In today's health care environment, health services managers have to be leaders.

 

Abstract image by Steven Johnson - Pexels CC0This 2500 word discussion paper should be written in the format of an academic paper, supported by scholarly references. 
 

Please refer to the course outline for areas to address in your discussion paper and the learnonline course site for assessment instructions.

Understand the task

View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website for help planning your assignment and making sense of the assignment and instruction words.

Plan your search

Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. 

Then consider alternative words for these concepts which, together with the concept term, become your searchable keywords.

You may be able to simplify your search by using Truncation, Wildcards and Phrases.

Example assignment topic: Is it ethical for a doctor to refuse to treat a patient?

Question: Is it ethical for a health care professional to refuse to treat a patient?
Concepts: Health care professional,    refusal to treat,    ethics

Synonyms:

Concept 1
  • Health care professional
  • Healthcare provider
  • health practitioner
  • clinician
Concept 2
  • refusal to treat
  • refuse to treat
  • refusal to provide care
  • patient abandonment
 Concept 3
  • ethics
  • moral
  • morality

 Combined search string
healthcare professional OR healthcare provider OR health practitioner OR clinician
AND
refusal to treat OR refusal to provide care OR patient abandonment
AND
ethics OR moral OR morality

With truncation / phrases
health* professional? OR health* provider? OR health* practitioner? OR clinician?
AND
"refus* to treat" OR "refus* to provide care" OR "patient abandonment" or "abandon patient?"
AND
ethic* OR moral*

Find Journal Articles for your Assignment

 For this assignment you need to demonstrate "“Extensive use of scholarly literature to support discussion" (Marking Rubric.)

 

Journals are the primary medium for scholarly communication and account for a large percentage of university research output.

Use these databases to search for locate relevant, credible journal articles to support your arguments within your assignment

Find Journal articles for your Assignment
More sources, help and tips for searching for journal articles for this assignment.

Database limits and filters

Journal articles are often found in databases.

Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many.  Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:

  • Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.

  • If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only – it won’t find any full-text. Using a full text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.

If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research. 

Evaluate your References

Once you have identified potential articles, you need to start evaluating them to identify which articles are the most relevant and appropriate.

Write your Assignment

View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website for help writing your assignment, or to make an appointment with SEU staff.

Referencing

For this assignment, you are required to use "Extensive quality sources correctly referenced as per UniSA Harvard Guidelines" (Marking Rubric)

 

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

More help: